Charles River Associates Principal Reviews

Updated Apr 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
88%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Associates President Paul Maleh
Paul Maleh
18 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great company to work for

    Oct 6, 2020 - Principal in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, interesting work, this employer invests heavily in its people. Training is available at every stage.

    Cons

    At times unpredictable workload, some long hours.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Poor management

    Apr 20, 2021 - Principal in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Most management is clueless and stays out of the way

    Cons

    Antiquated consulting model--this isn't 1992 anymore

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    decent consulting gig

    Feb 14, 2021 - Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    competitive pay; excellent medical insurance coverage

    Cons

    long hours (sometimes not reflected in annual bonus); siloed corp culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A poor-diversity consulting firm

    Sep 12, 2020 - Principal in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Good work-life balance 2. Pricing and Market Acess expertise

    Cons

    Multiple and many 1. No diversity and leadership doesn't seem to care. There has been no attempt to hire African Americans, Mexican etc. in the last 3 years even after repeated attempts- VPs just keep hiring their own clan. Out of 30+ principals and above- 0 people of color in last 5 years 2. The work has plummeted atleast 30% month over month. 3. No effort from leadership (Senior Principals, VPs) to help juniors grow- they only care about their own profit sharing 4. Bonus and incentives is decided behind closed curtains- its a joke how they decide your bonus

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Charles River Associates Response

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are committed to our diversity and inclusion initiatives, our training processes, and providing our colleagues with the tools needed for professional development. We are proud of our firm and our track record, and share information frequently about our growth in the areas of financial performance, people, and culture through our website and our social media platforms (LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). Please reach out to me directly if you’d like to discuss any specific concerns further. -- Jen Kordell, CHRO

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    CRA

    Oct 1, 2020 - Associate Principal in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collegial working environment, generally interesting project works

    Cons

    Pay scale may be lower than MBB

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to Work

    Apr 13, 2020 - Associate Principal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My colleagues at CRA are terrific and a real highlight of the job. The company affords a nice work life balance and seems highly invested in nurturing individual career development

    Cons

    Compensation is rather opaque and expectations/incentives around compensation are unclear

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    great for someone looking for long-term career growth

    Apr 13, 2020 - Associate Principal in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    supportive colleagues and bosses; mass exposure to high-profile cases

    Cons

    unpredictable working hours; occasional late nights

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Work Environment

    Mar 6, 2020 - Senior Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits and a great culture

    Cons

    Not much help in terms of paying for additional study

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A Great Place to Work

    Oct 15, 2018 - Associate Principal 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I work with are smart, collegial, and fun to be around. The benefits and pay are great. CRA is a flexible employer, which makes it easy to parent and work full time.

    Cons

    The hours can be long, and the amount of work fluctuates week-to-week (and even day-to-day).

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    A Great Place to Work

    Oct 1, 2018 - Principal in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive, collaborative, opportunity, challenge, interesting work, benefits, compensation, corporate culture, performance feedback

    Cons

    Work-life balance can be a challenge as with most consulting jobs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews

Popular Careers with Charles River Associates Job Seekers

Analyst
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Charles River Associates? Share Your Experiences

Charles River Associates logo
or