KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Charles River Associates

Engaged Employer

Charles River Associates

Add a Review

Charles River Associates Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Associates President Paul Maleh
Paul Maleh
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance as well as fun social/extracurricular events(in 37 reviews)

  • "Junior staff members are not over-staffed on projects(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "At times unpredictable workload, some long hours(in 31 reviews)

  • "Sometimes unpredictable hours, limit opportunity for junior staff to travel(in 25 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good

      Dec 3, 2020 - Consultant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good culture, nice people, good work life balance

      Cons

      team structure is limiting for breadth of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A poor-diversity consulting firm

      Sep 12, 2020 - Principal in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Good work-life balance 2. Pricing and Market Acess expertise

      Cons

      Multiple and many 1. No diversity and leadership doesn't seem to care. There has been no attempt to hire African Americans, Mexican etc. in the last 3 years even after repeated attempts- VPs just keep hiring their own clan. Out of 30+ principals and above- 0 people of color in last 5 years 2. The work has plummeted atleast 30% month over month. 3. No effort from leadership (Senior Principals, VPs) to help juniors grow- they only care about their own profit sharing 4. Bonus and incentives is decided behind closed curtains- its a joke how they decide your bonus

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Charles River Associates Response

      Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are committed to our diversity and inclusion initiatives, our training processes, and providing our colleagues with the tools needed for professional development. We are proud of our firm and our track record, and share information frequently about our growth in the areas of financial performance, people, and culture through our website and our social media platforms (LinkedIn, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram). Please reach out to me directly if you’d like to discuss any specific concerns further. -- Jen Kordell, CHRO

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Successful firm with intellectual colleagues

      Apr 8, 2020 - Communications Associate in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -From day one, you're given lots of responsibility, which allows you to learn and grow quite quickly -Ample opportunity to work with colleagues from across the firm (both on the consulting and corporate side) -You have freedom at CRA - there are few barriers should you want to explore your personal areas of interest -Surrounded by smart, multi-talented, and supportive colleagues from around the globe -Good work/life balance as well as fun social/extracurricular events

      Cons

      Corporate staff could be given more visibility/recognition. Also, corporate departments are small and still evolving - as a result, there are sometimes competing/shifting priorities. Personally, however, I've found this allows for leadership and creativity outside of pre-determined roles.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Associate

      Sep 9, 2020 - Associate in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work culture. Incredibly smart colleagues.

      Cons

      Variability of work load can lead to poor work life balance sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Intern

      intern experience

      Oct 15, 2020 - Analyst Intern in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good work life balance, company culture

      Cons

      lower pay for the industry

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No room for improvement

      Jan 25, 2020 - Cyber Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There's always snacks at work and a lot of team dinners at expensive restaurants. However, as most consulting companies do, they bill the expensive dinners as expense to their clients because of the long hours they work.

      Cons

      No work life balance - the only week I work a normal 40 hours week was my first week. Every week it is on average about 60 hours to 80 hours weeks. No open communication about your work or feedback from upper management. One analyst is supposed to handle 20+ cases weekly. Very assembly line kind of work. All the good cases are taken by managers who are not free to teach since they are busy. No room for professional growth. All the requests for attending conferences or taking SANS certificates get turned down because they do not want to invest "that" much in analysts (to be honest, analysts in Big 4 are supported to do SANS). Likes to spend on unnecessary parties or dinners. Bad at choosing their teams. Macho culture.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Charles River Associates Response

      Recruiting Program Manager

      Thank you for the feedback. It is our intention to give every employee a meaningful experience with interesting and challenging work; investment in training and development; regular feedback and coaching from your manager; on-the-job learning through our apprenticeship model; and a wellness program to support healthy balance. We are sorry that we fell short on this and you did not have a good experience. If you haven't already, we encourage you to share your specific feedback with Human Capital.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 13, 2020 - Associate Principal 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My colleagues at CRA are terrific and a real highlight of the job. The company affords a nice work life balance and seems highly invested in nurturing individual career development

      Cons

      Compensation is rather opaque and expectations/incentives around compensation are unclear

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      17+ years of software development experience. Software Architect. Microsoft stack C#.

      Mar 4, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work / Life Balance, Culture & Values

      Cons

      Career Opportunities, Compensations, NA , NA

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to start a career

      Jan 22, 2020 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work / life balance relative to other consulting firms

      Cons

      Starting salary is on par with competitors, but quickly lags significantly the longer you stay

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best job I've held to date

      Jan 9, 2020 - Analyst in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, friendly collegiate environment, growing business. Employees are friendly and extremely knowledgeable, with many coming from masters/PhD programmes. Salary is competitive, bonuses and benefits are both pretty strong.

      Cons

      None that I have encountered so far.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Charles River Associates Job Seekers

    Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Charles River Associates? Share Your Experiences

    Charles River Associates logo
    or