Charles Tyrwhitt Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Charles Tyrwhitt Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Charles Tyrwhitt CEO Luke Kingsnorth (no image)
Luke Kingsnorth
8 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No training given in order to develop(in 6 reviews)

  • "Hard to get better pay, long hours and late shifts(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Perks, great deals, free clothes

    Cons

    Happy days, long days, good policies

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-06-11

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    June 24, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Dear Long Lost Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for your short but sweet 5 star review! Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  2. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a great employee discount and a flexible schedule

    Cons

    You will be dealing with some of the rudest/cheapest clientele imaginable. They consistently try and scheme the system by abusing the very generous return policy (6 months).

    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-06-24

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    July 9, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Dear Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It’s a real shame that you wouldn’t recommend CT to others and we’re saddened to hear that you disapprove of our CEO. If you're comfortable talking to the HR team, we'd really like to understand what we could be doing better. On a more positive note we agree that our employee discount is a fantastic benefit and a flexible schedule is the key to a happy work/life balance! In response to your cons; we feel that our 6 month guarantee is the perfect example of the lengths we will go to, to provide an incredible experience for our valued customers. As our Founder, Nick says, “It’s a crazy way to do business, but the right way!” We do however take all feedback seriously, so we urge you to reach out to your Head of Retail or USHR Team if you feel that our policy is being abused. Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  3. "Great Opportunity to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    CT is still a relatively small company that has a lot of room to grow and improve. If you’re willing to put in the work and bring a positive attitude to work everyday you will succeed here.

    Cons

    The clientele is the most pretentious that I have ever worked with. It’s out of the company’s control but the amount of things that they let customers get away with is outrageous

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-05-07

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    May 13, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Hello there Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We absolutely agree with you; we’re still growing and improving every day and this is what will keep us competitive in the market. Our hard-working, dedicated employees are the key to our success and it’s certainly not something we take for granted! In the spirit of our value ‘BE the Customer’, it’s important that we provide an incredible experience to our customers, however they choose to shop with us. The services and benefits we offer to our customers are an important part of this experience. As our Founder says, “It’s a crazy way to do business, but the right way!”. If you feel however, that any of these benefits are being abused, then please do reach out to our Head of Retail or US HR so we can investigate further. We take your advice to management on-board, but without further detail it’s difficult to comment further. At CT, everybody has the same opportunity to grow, learn and develop. We are here to support you, and our managers to ensure fairness within our teams. If this is something you’d like to discuss further then please reach out to US HR or any of our Senior Management team for a confidential discussion. Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  4. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Team in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel challenged + supported every day Love my colleagues Yearly Trips to the UK office

    Cons

    Working with UK office with different time zones makes some work more difficult Growing pains from a catalog retailer to an omni-channel retailer

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-03-27

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    March 29, 2019Talent Acquisition Manager

    Hey Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for your feedback! It is great to hear you are enjoying CT Stateside! Hope to see you in the UK again soon!

    Continue reading
  5. "Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time

    Pros

    Laid back environment Monthly bonuses

    Cons

    No communication on issues Can secretly discard you without warning

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-03-02

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    March 26, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Shooting straight to your Cons, we’re not sure what you mean by “no communication on issues” without knowing the issues you’re referring to and equally we’re unsure what you mean by “secretly discard you without warning” without any further context. Unfortunately without this detail it’s very difficult to use this feedback to make a difference, but we appreciate your feedback nonetheless. We wish you all the best in your future endeavours Team CT

    Continue reading
  6. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Product Easiness They are trying One step at a time

    Cons

    Favoritism/untouchables Lack of collective accountability Resistant

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2019-01-09

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    January 28, 2019Recruitment Specialist - Head Office

    Hello there anonymous Tyrwhitteer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately you’ve not given us much constructive detail here so we will struggle to use it to make a real difference. Although, it seems like you may have some interesting insights that we would like to know more about - and you’re still here with us which is promising! We would therefore, really like to learn more and so urge you to speak, in confidence, with a member of CT’s HR department. Best Wishes Team CT

    Continue reading
  7. "Great US Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time

    Pros

    Growing company with very passionate people. NYC stores are filled with great skilled managers

    Cons

    Growing brand so still working through some growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2017-12-15

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    January 9, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

    Dear Current Employee in New York, Thank you for your review! It made us smile... "growing pains" is a nice term. If there is anything in particular that is concerning you please speak let us know. We are really proud of our colleagues in the US and as you will know CT has big plans for the USA in 2018 and beyond! It's great to hear that you and everyone there are making such a success of this growing business. Kind regards, Team CT

    Continue reading
  8. "Maybe some stores are different but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no actual expectations or standards in the stores. If you are the kind of person that enjoys doing nothing at work, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    There isn’t any sort of quality control or accountability for the upper management. The management team consistently shows up late to every shift and then sits in the back all day watching YouTube. When there is the occasional corporate visit, they are so out of touch with the actual running of the store and business continues as usual.The pay is very low, but then again so is the quality and price of this made in China crap. There is no return policy so your entire shift is spent taking back soiled garments for $0.00 exchange transactions. Also the whole discount thing... everything is always on sale nothing is ever full price.

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2017-11-14

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    January 9, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

    Dear Current Employee, It is upsetting to read your review. It seems designed to be offensive rather than constructive which suggests you really are not happy at CT. The experience you describe is concerning and not typical but unfortunately the information provided doesn’t indicate which store you work for so it is difficult to act upon. We have however shared your concerns with the leaders of all our US stores. If you wish to provide more detail in order to help us tackle your concerns please speak with your HR Manager. To address your other points: We are confident that our pay is competitive and that the benefits we offer are generous. CT genuinely cares about our people and works hard to ensure this is a rewarding and enjoyable place to work. We our proud of the exceptional quality and value of our skilfully designed and crafted products and the excellent service we offer our loyal customers. CT is keen to support you with your concerns however if the core values above are not something that you agree with perhaps CT isn’t the right place for you to work? Kind regards, Team CT.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "just like any other retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Salesman 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt part-time

    Pros

    free uniform and some other clothing, good pay if experienced, decent discount....

    Cons

    CLEAR favoritism with management - i dont care if you like certain employees more, treat us the same. this isnt a high school. CLEAR seniority with management meaning: everyone's roles are very clearly defined from the first day; if you're an associate you're treated like one, like someone who is below the mananagement and worth less and is there to do all the grunt work For some reason there are employees who tell me what to do and delegate to me even though I am more experienced and knowledgeable about suits, clothing, and men's fashion and communication with clients. Absolute trash that is. STOP MICROMANAGEMENT. I KNOW HOW A RETAIL STORE SHOULD BE RUN, and I KNOW what to do if there aren't customers, management does not need to be hovering behind me at all times waiting to give me something to do while they go to the back and sit their butts on the computer doing God knows what. Oh, and NO TRAINING. What kind of job does not provide any training? And you expect me to know everything about the register, thanks for that. I dont feel ill be able to advance any time soon. Long, painful shifts in a small shop are physically and mentally draining.

    Continue reading
    Charles Tyrwhitt2017-09-16

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    January 9, 2018Talent Acquisition Manager

    Dear Current Employee, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. It is clear you are feeling angry and upset. However... you are still here which is great! So, if you seriously want to make a change to your experience of CT please speak to your manager about how you are feeling. If you can't speak to your manager then speak with the Regional Manager for your area or your HR People Partner. They will listen and want to help! Unfortunately, whilst your review lets us (and others) know that you are not happy it doesn't help us support you directly or create the changes that could make all the difference to your enjoyment of work. Over to you... Best regards, Team CT

    Continue reading
  10. "Great, fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Tyrwhitt full-time

    Pros

    A growing, vibrant company that really cares about it's people. This is led from the top down. Great opportunities for progression if you're good and enthusiastic

    Cons

    No major cons. As the business is growing there is sometimes lots on but it's exciting stuff.

    Charles Tyrwhitt2017-06-28

    Charles Tyrwhitt Response

    July 5, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Dear Current Employee, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Life at CT. It's certainly a busy time for everyone, we have big ambitions! it's great to hear that you are "getting stuck in" and joining us on this exciting adventure to "make it easy for men to dress well!" Kind regards, The Talent Acquisition Team.

    Continue reading
Found 135 reviews