Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwell Retirement Residences Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 138 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
W. Brent Binions
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefit package/ lots of room for staff at the residences(in 9 reviews)

  • "Chartwell is a big professional company with good benefits and nice colleagues at the head office(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management does not take action when serious complaints of supervisor behaviour is brought to their attention(in 4 reviews)

  • "Its disgraceful and unfortunate as I believe the CEO has a good vision but it is not being relayed to the front line at all(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Personal support worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoy the staff and the residents

    Cons

    Not enough staffing on site.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2018-06-15
  2. "Enjoying talking to seniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Server in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are very goods people

    Cons

    Some are not understable .

    Advice to Management

    To improved on all what they are doing. Thanks

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-31
  3. "Chartwell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There for the employees Opportunity of growth

    Cons

    Listen to what the residents need to say , they are living here

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-31
  4. "Professionally managed providing a high level of job satisfaction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Langley, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A work environment that allows employees to make a positive difference in the lives of seniors in our community.

    Cons

    I can not think of any "cons".

    Advice to Management

    None

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-12
  5. "Very supportive from both Management & Residents. I enjoy coming to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to make a difference in the lives of the Chartwell residents each and every day.

    Cons

    Benefits could be improved a bit.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-11
  6. "Great Place to Work and Live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to Work Great Atmosphere Great Decor and Management Just Great

    Cons

    Cannot think of anything at this time

    Advice to Management

    So far everything is going quite well

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-04
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Mission, BC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee recognition. Chartwell shows their employees appreciation. Strong teamwork environment. Management is always there to help if needed. Making a difference in the residents lives.

    Cons

    I can’t think of anything at this time

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-07-01
  8. "Great Company to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of my best reason to be working at Charwell is I'm part of the company's vision to make people's lives better.

    Cons

    Ever since I started working at this company, I have not experience any downside of it.... I am very proud and lucky to be able to work with the company.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-06-29
  9. "Awesome Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For me, Chartwell Retirement Residence is the best place to work with, Team work abounds and we us workers are respected by our colleagues and leaders..Our manager is a mentor and great example of love for work , be it a housekeeper, food server , concierge., Our staffs, managers and residents are kind ,compassionate. Hi and Hello are our morning happiness... we work together with and end goal.. to make peoples life...

    Show More

    Cons

    The only thing is its far from my house.

    Advice to Management

    At the moments i don't have any advice, i love what i see and they are doing their best

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-06-27
  10. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Receptionist in Mission, BC

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very much a family feel. The residents you work with everyday are wonderful

    Cons

    we need more casual staff

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-06-25
Found 138 reviews