Chartwell Retirement Residences "residences" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwell Retirement Residences Employee Reviews about "residences"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Chartwell Retirement Residences President and CEO W. Brent Binions (no image)
W. Brent Binions
74 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefit package/ lots of room for staff at the residences(in 8 reviews)

  • "Chartwell is a big professional company with good benefits and nice colleagues at the head office(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay for a lot more work than you should have to do in a Retirement home(in 5 reviews)

  • "Unhealthy food, terrible management, no room for advancement, no respect for family life(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "residences"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work and great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Bus Driver in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoy the staff and residences and the hours I work are just perfect.

    Cons

    I have worked at Chartwell almost 2 years and have found no Cons

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-12-06

    Chartwell Retirement Residences Response

    December 10, 2019Communications Coordinator

    Thank you for the positive feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review and rating.

    Continue reading
  2. "Awesome Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For me, Chartwell Retirement Residence is the best place to work with, Team work abounds and we us workers are respected by our colleagues and leaders..Our manager is a mentor and great example of love for work , be it a housekeeper, food server , concierge., Our staffs, managers and residents are kind ,compassionate. Hi and Hello are our morning happiness... we work together with and end goal.. to make peoples life better...Where love, kindness abounds... makes us all inspired to work.

    Cons

    The only thing is its far from my house.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-06-27
  3. "Grea"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefit package/ lots of room for staff at the residences

    Cons

    No room for advancement in corporate

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2019-06-18
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get really close with some of the residence and free food after shifts are done

    Cons

    Very disorganize management and workers that have been there long think they run the place and can be quite mean

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2018-01-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Front line"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Line Staff in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The residences is the reason i worked there.

    Cons

    They hire management that are unfit for the job.Very unapproachable.If they do not like you watch out and run because they will find a way to get rid of you.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2017-05-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Chartwell Retirement Residences

    Pros

    Most employees are great, take their work to heart. Good benefits overall for office employees and managers in the residences. Other residence employees, what is called front line, are second class citizens compared to management.

    Cons

    Extreme micro-managing in departments. Lack of communication between departments. Seems like each department has its own agenda and goals to meet, no matter how they achieve those goals.

    Chartwell Retirement Residences2017-03-09
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Horrible politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences full-time

    Pros

    The residents and coworkers make every day a blessing. The company supports beautiful buildings and spends money to keep residences at high standard. Values and principles great, but not embodied by upper management.

    Cons

    Terrible regional management, often less qualified than the managers they oversee. Unethical/ illegal practices with respect to rate increases and fees. Often reported to provincial bodies and licensing. Raises, bonuses and benefits dismal for employees, but fat for senior management.

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2016-04-23
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Lack of respect and support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in North Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwell Retirement Residences

    Pros

    Some of the residents are the nicest people you will ever meet and the residence for the most part is clean and no odours

    Cons

    Management is very bad The GM hired buddies and formed their clique They would talk behind the residents back, make fun of them and then be so two faced and warm and nice in front of them. Backstabbing and giving the cold shoulder was their speciality if you were not in the group They would purposefully make work harder for others and laugh about it all the while they would do the very minimal at theirs. They were manipulative to their superiors at head office and of course those at head office were so full of themselves and power struck they went along with it

    Continue reading
    Chartwell Retirement Residences2015-11-19
Found 8 reviews