Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Barista Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Barista

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Barista Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
2 Ratings
  1. "Barista"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Co workers and environment

    Cons

    Not many hours because there were too many part time student employees

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-08-15
  2. "Low value on employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Hays, KS
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Lots of room to move within the company

    Cons

    Low value on employees

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-20
  3. "Barista at Chartwell's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Barista in Bismarck, ND
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The location was a short drive.

      Cons

      Management did not accept accountability.

      Advice to Management

      Get it together

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-02-21

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

      March 1, 2019Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate everything you do on a daily basis to provide for students, faculty and your own teammates. If you continue to encounter issues with your management team, be sure to reach out to the HR Support Center. They're prepared ...

      Show More
    • "Okay Enough"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I worked for a Starbucks under Chartwells. Pros: fantastic managers who were easygoing and open to schedule adjustments. Meal ticket when you worked over 4 (maybe 5? can't remember) hours. Paid up to $50 to get me work appropriate shoes. Gave me a free parking pass (college campus, so it was pretty great)

      Cons

      Horrendous coworkers that, despite being openly hostile or insubordinate, continued to work for the company. Coworkers were fired for following rules that had never been enforced prior, so most of the staff was on edge because the sudden intense emphasis on rule following, over consumer experience or interaction.

      Advice to Management

      Fire that one girl. You know who. She's gotta go, I've gotten literal texts from customers that will walk away from the store if they see she's working.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-06-27
    • "Chartwells"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista in Springfield, MO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Unity, Creativity, Clean, Outgoing, and Stern

      Cons

      Timely, Lack individualism, Lack communication, and are poor at understanding

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-11-05
    • "Great job, super tiring!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks in College Station, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      friendly co-workers, fast paced environment, flexible scheduling

      Cons

      little to no down time

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-02-22
    • "Brief Barista Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Barista 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

      Pros

      I worked on my college campus, so it was very convenient to walk and not be stuck in any traffic while driving. I only worked on the weekends due to my class schedule, so in that regard my manager worked with me. It was a decent job for six months that paid me above minimum wage for reasonable easy work.

      Cons

      What really ruined my experience was 1) the "cattiness" of my co-workers, 2) the lack of work ethic from other employees that added to my daily work load, 3) the incompetence of the general manager foreseeing catering, the main diner, and the little cafe in which I worked. The only reason I stayed as long as I did was because I loved seeing my classmates come by and chatting with them as I served them.

      Advice to Management

      If you see a co-worker sitting on their phone in the back room and another co-worker busting their chops serving students in the front at ALL THREE stations that are available to them, please be assertive and make the back room employee work. Burnout is already high enough in the food industry, don't make it worse by putting the majority of the work on one individual.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-11-21
    • "Money corrupt"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista in Pensacola, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

      Pros

      Reasonable pay for first time jobs. Decent coworkers. Lunch.

      Cons

      This is the one of the most money thirsty companies I have ever seen. They nickle and dime everything. They installed cameras insinuating employees were theives. They teach employees to mistreat those below them. No one higher up respects anyone below them. Lunches are expired foods. No discount for work. Pay is sometimes late. Schedule doesn't come out until next day.

      Advice to Management

      TREAT YOUR EMPLOYEES WITH SOME DECENCY AND LISTEN TO CUSTOMER AND EMPLOYEE COMPLAINTS!!!

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-02-17
    • "Great experience!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier/Barista in New York, NY
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Benefits. Some flexibility, especially if you have seniority. Raises every year.

      Cons

      A lot of time off due to the academic year. However, unemployment may be collected.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2014-09-26
    • "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista 
      Recommends
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      my manager works well with the tea. the people I work with are also very helpful

      Cons

      it is an stay on your feet all day kind of job. it does not leave u with much energy to do anything else

      Advice to Management

      more people working at anytime

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2013-09-12
    Found 10 reviews