Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Cook Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Cook Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
4 Ratings
  1. "Fun overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really fun menu very enjoy all around and enjoy the hours

    Cons

    some of the employees can work better

    Advice to Management

    They are awesome and I love the energy

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-01-18

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    January 25, 2019Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad to hear that you’re having fun and enjoying your experience with Chartwells Higher Education. It’s wonderful that your hours are flexible enough to meet your needs. Our favorite part of your review is that ...

    Show More
  2. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PM Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Work is mindless, so it's not terribly hard. Lots of opportunity for vacation

    Cons

    Management is both unwilling and able to enact any meaningful change, and they don't pay anywhere near enough for the amount of work you're required to do.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees what they're worth

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-04-24
  3. "Cool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Fayetteville, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are nice most of the time.

    Cons

    It can be inefficient; the work process that is.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-03-21
  4. "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Hays, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have a job for alive.

    Cons

    Terrible management, you have no future.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-04-06
  5. "Great place great food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Cook in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the team atmosphere snd the executive chef

    Cons

    Policies they have for attendance not so great especially in an emergency situations

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-11-02

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    November 30, 2018Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for leaving us a five star review. We're glad that you love the team you work with, including the Executive Chef. It’s great to hear that you are enjoying your experience with us and that you find opportunities to hone your culinary talent within Chartwells Higher Education.

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Be careful of this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Whitewater, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services for more than a year

    Pros

    They are creative when it comes to food Wish they would explore more food options that are healthier when it comes to their menus

    Cons

    Management doesn't follow policy when dealing with issues with other employees There was plenty of times were I have not felt safe at work because of the hostility of the workplace. Lots of criticism and never compliments No room in the company to move up lots of high stress with little time to work on food preparation No dental and vision. Only health care Unions don't help and they are very unprofessional and...

    Show More
    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-03-30
  7. "It's ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Shawnee, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free meal, time off is with the students . Students are great

    Cons

    Management needs a revise. Managers dont listen to anyone rather be short than habe enough employees, work 10 hrs but get paid for 8!

    Advice to Management

    Validate the complaints ! Listen to the employees with experience, some complaints are real! Retaliation is a big factor here. Great company but poor management!

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-03-31
  8. "Good, Easy, and Welcoming Student Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Spring Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Working here helps you afford Spring Arbor University's heavy pricing.

    Cons

    It can take away from time you could be hanging with friends, doing homework or sleeping.

    Advice to Management

    I know some lower management at Spring Arbor University's campus has been abusive to employees. Try to higher better managers of students.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-06-22
  9. "cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The people you work with and meet.I love my job.I am the breakfast cook and I am good at what I do.

    Cons

    Too many breaks.Im on a two month break and I need to pay my bills so this is Unexceptable.Its the longest break i've had since I've been with the company and I've worked over 15 years for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to the employees that have been there for and does excellent work for the company.Please work on how you treat your employees.I feel the prejudice in this company.Expecially when the head chef brings back in 2 weeks all the employees he has hired from a previous job he worked at.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-05-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in San Marcos, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Had fun with the co workers I had. Could decide if I wanted to show up to worm or not. While I worked there some of the college student constantly no called no showed on an average basis and were never penalized. Free food for lunch. Great job for slackers.

    Cons

    Almost always under staffed Refused to take action on known problem causing supervisors, a supervisor responsible for multiple people quiting, and slack while nagging everyone else. Management doesnt care too much about you. If you are good ina spot like slaving over the hottest biggest grill all day with barely a break, dont expect to ever leave that spot because they will be unwilling to train or put anyone in that...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your employees. Offer competitive pay, if you are seen working hard while others stand around and talk tou should be rewarded. Stick to your rules. Half of my coworkers should have been fired for being late, eating on the job, no call no shows, disobedience, leaving the job clocked in (going to the store and coming back), drug abuse on the clock and a few other against policy actions that aren't held...

    Show More
    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-02-09
Found 28 reviews