Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Executive Chef Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Executive Chef Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
1 Ratings
  1. "Chartwells"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Chef in Gillette, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Not the best communication at times

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your hourly associates

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-10-15

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    November 2, 2018Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for leaving us a review and for being part of the team for 8 years. We're glad that you're enjoying your experience with us and that you find opportunities to hone your culinary talent within Chartwells Higher Education. Thanks for being a part of the Chartwells family, we're ...

    Show More
  2. "executive chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Chef 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    there is year round employment

    Cons

    micro managed sales crew promise the world and let the local talent deliver

    Advice to Management

    let pros do their thing listen to employee input and ideas

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-09-28
  3. "Worst job I have ever had!! Do not work for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Executive Chef in College Station, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

      Pros

      For the most part, I had a good staff. The staff had some morale issues due to low wages and no opportunity for increases. The students were nice.

      Cons

      The upper management was ignorant and neglectful. A couple of my employees and I were physically and verbally assaulted in my office. In spite of all of the evidence and witnesses to the incident, the management did nothing about the psychopath chef who assaulted us. The result of this was that this company lost several good, hard-working people because they wanted to bury the ugliness of the incident. In addition, the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Steve Sweeney needs to re-evaluate the people he trusts to run the business. They are sadly lacking in any kind of work ethic or personal ethics. They do not know anything about managing people.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-12-06
    • "executive chef"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Chef in Montclair, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      A very solid background company, great support from the company up line of management

      Cons

      some managers around campus have a very poor understanding about company lines of conduct.

      Advice to Management

      no matter how small is the complain, you have to take seriously

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-11-07
    • "Hard to win"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Chef 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Chartwells offers decent manager's pay but with no bonus package and has pretty good benefits with vacation, 401k, insurances, etc.

      Cons

      Long hours for a salaried manager, hard to make monthly numbers with the set amount of resident dining dollars, crappy recipes from a terrible computer program.

      Advice to Management

      Negotiate better contracts

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-07-12
    • "Executive Chef"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Chef in Towson, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      One of the best company to work for.

      Cons

      Not much to say. Tough to get skilled employees, due to low salary.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-02-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Executive Chef"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Chef in Pittsburgh, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Ability to showcase your skills as a chef. Travel to different locations throughout company, if necessary.

      Cons

      It honestly comes down to the actual account that you are at. Some are fantastic and some are down right awful. Unfortunately, I landed at an account that is not so fantastic. Horrible work ethic from everyone, and no support from corporate because of location of account. Upper management seems to have their favorites and it's obvious. Don't think to look for promotions or advancement. Compass has a hold on...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      It doesn't matter. Not wasting time writing here. "Biggest Food Service Company in the World" wouldn't have time to check a small, measly website like this. Until then, give Compass a try, but be careful with the account you choose. Ask a lot of questions, and make sure your director/upper management are about giving you a good work/life balance.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-02-09
    • "Just another money hungry, heartless food service company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Chef in Baltimore, MD
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Connecting with other chefs at other schools Freedom to do what I want on menus

      Cons

      Zero training They throw tons of online training courses that you have to do. No hands on training whatsoever Trying too much to be like other companies Below average pay/benefits Lack of care for their employees lives

      Advice to Management

      I could sit here and type a novel but I can't because I am too busy finishing one of my 12 reports due on my day off.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2015-06-24
    • "Chartwells at Texas A&M was the worst experience I have suffered in 30 years of work in the food & beverage industry."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Chef in College Station, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The only pro of working there was getting to know the students at Texas A&M. Helping the students was very rewarding.

      Cons

      Bad upper level management. The upper level managers do not get along with each other, They argue and call each other ugly names in front of the staff and the students. They do not agree on anything. They do no care about providing a good product to the students.

      Advice to Management

      Replace all of the upper level managers on the Texas A&M campus. They are destroying the reputation of the company. They are also destroying the morale of the hard working employees there.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2014-12-11
    Found 9 reviews