Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Manager Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
10 Ratings
  1. "The growth opportunities are amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident District Manager in Fayetteville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    In my 14+ years with Chartwells I've been treated with great respect and provided challenging opportunities every step of my career. The emphasis on great food, sustainability and developing people is unparalleled in the industry.

    Cons

    Only con is that I did not discover Chartwells/Compass Group sooner in my career.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on leveraging technology.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-10-14

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    November 2, 2018Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and for being a part of the Chartwells Higher Education family for more than 14 years! We are happy to hear that you are excited about working with us—especially that you wished you had joined the family sooner. We wholeheartedly ...

    Show More
  2. "Ugh!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Potential to move up fast!

    Cons

    Lack of training and support and very numbers driven!

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-04-04
  3. "DO IT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in Plattsburgh, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good growth opportunity within the company

    Cons

    Long hours and standing for a long period of time

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-02-05

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    February 28, 2019Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate the contribution of our current and former associates, we're glad to hear that you appreciated the career growth opportunities at Chartwells Higher Education. We understand our managers work very hard and at times long hours. Thank ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Manager in Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager-In-Training in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great investment in their people, fast paced work environment

    Cons

    communication can be lacking in such a large company

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-11-16

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    November 30, 2018Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for leaving us a review. We are so glad to hear you’re enjoying your experience in the Manager in Training Program. Our people are the secret to our success and we are glad to hear that you see Chartwells Higher Education as a company who invests in their people. Thank you ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great personal development and training opportunities. Management provided me with the tools to learn and grow within the company. I started as a part-time associate while in school and it quickly evolved into a full-time career.

    Cons

    Summers can be a little slow.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-10-12

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    November 2, 2018Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for leaving us a review. We're so glad to hear that management provided you with the tools to develop your career with us. It’s great to see that you were quickly promoted and now working full time. Thanks for all you do to make Chartwells Higher Education a great place to ...

    Show More
  6. "Food and Beverage Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Purchase, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a very friendly work environment with plenty of training. They are safety above all else, and the company treats its employees well.

    Cons

    There is a very specific way things have to get done, and order from the exact vendors. There's not a ton of wiggle room for free movement.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees, know what they like and don't like to do and what they are truly looking for from the company

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-10-10
  7. "Great Learning Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Sales Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Structure, benefits, opportunity for advancement, multi-cultural work environment

    Cons

    Change took a long time, too many meetings, unrealistic expectations

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-06-15
  8. "A great 17 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    A huge international company where the opportunities are endless.

    Cons

    None I can think of right now

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-03-12
  9. "Forced to be a manager with no pay rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Starbucks Store Manager in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    free meal, nothing else I just needed 5 words

    Cons

    underpaid, forced to work off the clock, bad food, no perks to working holidays, bullied into doing things you don't want to do

    Advice to Management

    TREAT YOUR EMPLOYEES WITH RESPECT

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-02-27
  10. "Challenging and Friendly Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FOH Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers/bosses, excellent benefits, opportunity for promotions, flexibility in schedule, many options for departments/sections to work in

    Cons

    Fast turnover of part-time employees, lack of communication/organization/structure between supervisors and departments, understaffing is common.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the location is adequately staffed with trained employees.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-11-09
Found 34 reviews