Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible hours, paid holidays, meals included(in 23 reviews)

  • "Free food, not an office job, and you get to work with a lot of people(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, sucky benefits, awful pto, no pay during holidays and summer(in 25 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not care about improving(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Teamwork"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in Lakeland, FL

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team oriented , fast pace environment

    Cons

    No overtime, and management could give more percentage in raises waged

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-11-14
  2. "Great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Chartwells gives you the tools to succeed and grow if you put in the effort.

    Cons

    High turnover of staff . Some miscommunication between the managers.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-05-15
  3. "No complaints"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Video Editor 

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote Relatively easy Flexible hours Relaxed management Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Slightly unorganized Confusing requirements at times

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-05-13
  4. "Will not recommend ever"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Starbucks Shift Supervisor in Richardson, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid meals, transferability, other than that not much

    Cons

    No communication, horrible management, racist, prejudiced, nepotism, they play favorites, no care for their part-time employees

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-04-05
  5. "Not long term"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Catering Captain in Ypsilanti, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Promotions are available across the campus, and gaining experience in more than one unit.

    Cons

    The salary for the amount of work that some have to take on don't seem to line up. Experience means nothing.

    Continue reading
    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-03-05
  6. "Horrid Experiences and Waste of Time"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees receive free meals. PTO available.

    Cons

    Required to be unemployed during holidays and school closure seasons. No communication among management and employees. Too many people try to wear the "supervisor" hat and give opposing orders. High employee turnover. No budget for marketing or required positions.

    Continue reading
    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-04-04
  7. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista 

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment , great people, good wage

    Cons

    No room for growth here

    Continue reading
    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-02-24
  8. "nice"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

    Pros

    best to work there, managers there are very friendly

    Cons

    no cons there to work

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-02-22
  9. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Chef 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall the company was great. Benefits are awesome. Work life balance is pretty good.

    Cons

    My Senior Director is why I walked out.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-02-20
  10. "They do not care."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director of Dining Services 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I wouldn't say anything about the company is good. If I leave early in the day it's because I set myself up to do so. If I hit sales goals it hasn't been with assistance of anyone at my account.

    Cons

    Upper management does not care about improving. There are cliques that affect everyone because of the decisions the clique at the top makes. Micromanaged like crazy. Team members don't know who to listen to because the upper management goes over your head. Processes are supposed to be advanced and streamlined, but everything is still paperwork. For a company that is supposed to be as large as this and the 6th largest employer in the world, I would think you would be more up to date with technology. I have found out how much all other directors get paid, and I do NOT get paid equally. I've been looking for a new job.

    Continue reading
    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2020-03-26
Found 573 reviews