Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 504 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
68 Ratings
  1. "Disconnected From Local Operations, Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Runner 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Extremely conscious about food health and safety. Flexible work hours.

      Cons

      Repetitive and labor intensive.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-06-21
    • "Good Part Time Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay for the work

      Cons

      Troubled management and oblivious to employee concerns

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-06-20
    • "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Supervisor in Arlington, TX
      Recommends

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Growth Respect Great work culture Free food

      Cons

      tiring work less pay for starters

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-06-12
    • "Texas Woman's University"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Caterer in Denton, TX

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Everyone was understanding when it came to education. The boss/manager was understanding and compassionate towards the co-workers and led teamwork.

      Cons

      The first time working the management before was not organized, now management is better.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-06-10
    • "High expectations yet understaffed."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shift Lead in Bowling Green, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I was able to work there while attending the same university. I did end up getting a full time position after I graduated before figuring out what I'd do.

      Cons

      Inconsistent and severely cut summer hours if I wasnt management or higher seniority cook. Verbal promises of advancement and no follow through. They did what they could to let you have hope inorder to keep you around longer.

      Advice to Management

      Mean what you say, truly invest in coaching and developing people, dont treat employees like they're really that replaceable.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-06-09
    • "Marketing Intern - Texas A&M"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Intern in College Station, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great staff and work environment.

      Cons

      It's a small department so there is not a lot of experience to gain.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-29
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Supervisor in Arlington, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Management is very friendly and the work atmosphere is great

      Cons

      Less Pay and more work

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-22
    • "Low value on employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Hays, KS
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Lots of room to move within the company

      Cons

      Low value on employees

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-20
    • "Keeps growing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Miami, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Always learning new concepts to keep up with trends.

      Cons

      No comment. Enjoy my job with Chartwell

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-20
    • "Great schedule, terrible pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Worker 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Free food and they give you a schedule that works well with your classes, etc.

      Cons

      They pay minimum wage. You can make more at any other job. Also, they aren't up front in your interview / job offering. The HR dude complimented my beard and said he wanted to put me xxxxx location.on my third shift I was told to shave or I would be written up, neither HR nor the head manager said anything about cutting off my beautiful beard, they let the assistant manager deliver the news... Shaving my beard is a make...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Be more open.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-19
    Found 504 reviews