Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 498 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
66 Ratings
  1. "Catering Captain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Captain in Denton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice employees but questionable management

    Cons

    No training, low pay, extreme nepotism with unlimited overtime but not for anyone else, false job description( more work than normal, added on duties daily, traveling all over the metroplex)

    Advice to Management

    Don't show favoritism to family and friends by handing out unlimited overtime but giving 20 hours or less to everyone else. Employees have to get a second job because of nepotism.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-04-11
  2. "Overall - OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Free Food, Flexible and everything else is dependent on your boss

    Cons

    last minutes request on certain projects

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-03-20
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The rate of pay is decent-to-good.

      Cons

      The team environment could be better.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-03-06
    • "Cool"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cook in Fayetteville, AR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people are nice most of the time.

      Cons

      It can be inefficient; the work process that is.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-03-21
    • "Do not work here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      There are no pros to working here

      Cons

      The company looks for the easiest and most efficient way to make a profit, does not values their employees and overworks their employees

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-04-09
    • "Bad Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cook in Hays, KS
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You have a job for alive.

      Cons

      Terrible management, you have no future.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-04-06
    • "Empty promises , expect to do the work of your hourly employees"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sous Chef in Garden City, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      benefits paid vacation ( whenever you're allowed to take it) batch cooking

      Cons

      working with minimum wage hourly employees who dont have the same understanding of what it means to be a chef. expect daily call outs whining picking up extra work for no compensation losing actual skilled employees because they get paid minimum wage endless bureaucratic hoops to jump through forced to buy products due to the "priority" lists aka compass gets a kickback

      Advice to Management

      Search for SKILLED EMPLOYEES AND PAY THEM A COMPETITIVE WAGE. STOP USING THE " ITS A BODY TO FILL THE GAP" MENTALITY PAY YOUR SALARIED MANAGERS OVERTIME IF THEY GO OVER 60 HRS A WEEK OR WORK 7-32 DAYS STRAIGHT

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-03-12
    • "Great company, great people, decent pay!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Food Service Worker in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The best things about the company are good hours, good learning experience, great boss, easy work, wonderful students and staff.

      Cons

      The only and biggest downside to this is when the school is closed, you have no work and no compensation. Had I known this I would have not taken this job.

      Advice to Management

      It should be disclosed at interview about the off time we get. Also it would be ideal to give some sort of bonus or compensation to aid employees during off periods.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-02-25

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

      March 1, 2019Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

      Thank you for leaving a great review. We're so glad that the hours suit your schedule and you're finding opportunities to advance within Chartwells Higher Education. It’s wonderful to see that you are surrounded by great coworkers, students and faculty members. Thank you for making ...

      Show More
    • "Good job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Ypsilanti, MI

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good staff to work with

      Cons

      Not nearly enough training; gets busy and not enough staff during busy times

      Advice to Management

      Please train your student employees more

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-02-22

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

      March 1, 2019Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're glad that you're enjoying your experience. We wholeheartedly agree that we have great people here at Chartwells Higher Education. We appreciate your note about training and will relay that to our team. Thank you for being ...

      Show More
    • "Good for a first internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Intern in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

      Pros

      Good pay, flexible hours, free meals, gain working experience, company truly cares about their interns

      Cons

      There is bad communication at times

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-03-04

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

      March 11, 2019Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

      Thank you for leaving us a review! We’re thrilled to hear that you choose us for your first internship. We appreciate your note about compensation, hours and training and will relay that to our team. We offer a myriad of development opportunities for interns and are happy that ...

      Show More
    Found 498 reviews