Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Student Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Student Worker Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
0 Ratings
  1. "Subway Sandwich Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Pretty hard to get fired. They understand you are a student and that school comes first. Fun friendly workforce makes work enjoyable.

    Cons

    Low pay and small raises. Because it is located on a college campus can be very busy and stressful at times.

    Advice to Management

    Don't wait so long to fire bad employees. Don't nitpick your good employees because you know they won't start trouble with you.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-05-26
  2. "Great schedule, terrible pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food and they give you a schedule that works well with your classes, etc.

    Cons

    They pay minimum wage. You can make more at any other job. Also, they aren't up front in your interview / job offering. The HR dude complimented my beard and said he wanted to put me xxxxx location.on my third shift I was told to shave or I would be written up, neither HR nor the head manager said anything about cutting off my beautiful beard, they let the assistant manager deliver the news... Shaving my beard is a make...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more open.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-19
  3. "Alright Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker 

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I generally enjoyed most of the staff that I worked with while working for Chartwells.

    Cons

    Corporate left little room for variations and the menu was mundane. Students often complained about constant repetition of menu items.

    Advice to Management

    Leave some room for creative freedom and I believe that you will be surprised what you get out of it.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-10-03
  4. "Great Place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Springfield, MO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Friendly workplace Patient with freshers

    Cons

    Long hours can get tiring

    Advice to Management

    Kudos keep up the good work

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-07-10
  5. "I enjoyed working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in North Dartmouth, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

    Pros

    You can have food at market place when its open. Salary on time. Friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    Nothing in specific sometimes works is hectic when there are moer customers.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-06-23
  6. "It's A Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Edinboro, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Lots of people so there is always someone to get along with Free food! Flexible work hours for students Independent company, so doesn't interfere with work-study

    Cons

    Student workers often treated badly by union workers Management doesn't communicate well Rules constantly changing Management tends to play favorites Corporate is very greedy - concerned more with turning a profit than offering reasonable services

    Advice to Management

    Team up and make up your minds

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2014-06-02
  7. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helped pay my student expenses.

    Cons

    Didn't pay well. Too much of work load and hours.

    Advice to Management

    The student workers were caught in the politics between managers. Please look into it!

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2014-04-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good experience for a minimum wage job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Student Worker in Whitewater, WI

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours, it was located on campus, we got a free meal if we worked for longer than 5 hours

      Cons

      The restaurant I worked at was on a college campus, and sometimes dealing with college students all day could be more than I bargained for

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2014-02-17
    Found 8 reviews