Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Employee Reviews about "free food"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 498 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was a very easy job to attain that had flexible hours to work around my classes(in 19 reviews)

  • "Free Food, Flexible and everything else is dependent on your boss(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay rate for a position that required an abundance of experience(in 27 reviews)

  • "Things are not always organized, Upper management takes a long time on decision making(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Overall - OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Free Food, Flexible and everything else is dependent on your boss

    Cons

    last minutes request on certain projects

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-03-20
  2. "Nothing Special"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

    Pros

    Free food! Cool People. Made friends

    Cons

    Management is hectic and crazy

    Advice to Management

    be less hectic

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-09-30
  3. "Student Worker at Dining Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

    Pros

    Get free food as an employee meal when you work for more than 4 hours

    Cons

    Very busy at times, have to do work that's not in job description

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-10-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poorly managed and too much control at the unit level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Free food, good insurance, and opportunity to take on a lot of extra projects

    Cons

    Overworking people, long hours, awful attitudes from account leaders that have been there way too long.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving the leadership abilities of "old timers" that have been in foodservice 10+ years. They bring down morale and make the work environment insufferable.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-03-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cook in San Marcos, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Had fun with the co workers I had. Could decide if I wanted to show up to worm or not. While I worked there some of the college student constantly no called no showed on an average basis and were never penalized. Free food for lunch. Great job for slackers.

    Cons

    Almost always under staffed Refused to take action on known problem causing supervisors, a supervisor responsible for multiple people quiting, and slack while nagging everyone else. Management doesnt care too much about you. If you are good ina spot like slaving over the hottest biggest grill all day with barely a break, dont expect to ever leave that spot because they will be unwilling to train or put anyone in that...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your employees. Offer competitive pay, if you are seen working hard while others stand around and talk tou should be rewarded. Stick to your rules. Half of my coworkers should have been fired for being late, eating on the job, no call no shows, disobedience, leaving the job clocked in (going to the store and coming back), drug abuse on the clock and a few other against policy actions that aren't held...

    Show More
    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-02-09
  6. "Great place to work on campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Great management Free food excellent place to work

    Cons

    It can you really stressed when its busy

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-11-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

    Pros

    Best reason, hands down, free food. Most food service worker jobs are easy and if done correctly, nobody will bother you

    Cons

    Pay is horrible, management is an absolute joke, food served is complete trash on most days.

    Advice to Management

    Cook better dishes, pay more, do something to encourage good employees to stay and do a good job

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-02-15
  8. "Ex-Supervisor-Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Fitchburg, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Worked here for 5 years. I would still work here if not trying for a job in my field. I worked while in school. Flexible hours, great number of hours available. My manager had my back. Free food 2 events for staff each year Yearly Raise

    Cons

    Management was shaky but leveled out when I was promoted. | Work only during school schedule Management bites down on overtime Get scolded for things beyond control (What job doesn't have this?) Higher ups didn't like to say 'no' or the truth out of fear which left some employees(myself) without money/work during the downtime without warning. Vacation time accruing was a joke. Benefits were meh.

    Advice to Management

    Get on the floor a little more and do not fear employee response. Be open but also keep firm and honest. This will make people feel a little more 'in the know' and valuable even if they arn't particularly your fave.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2015-10-22
  9. "Okay for student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

    Pros

    They provide plenty of free food and drinks. Good job to have as a student. Free coffee. Not much else to say.

    Cons

    No room for growth. Low pay. Very boring job. They love micro managing. They offer no evaluations or opportunities for raises.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more opportunities for growth. Work more with students and their schedules. Offer more evaluations and raises.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2015-08-26
  10. "It's A Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Worker in Edinboro, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Lots of people so there is always someone to get along with Free food! Flexible work hours for students Independent company, so doesn't interfere with work-study

    Cons

    Student workers often treated badly by union workers Management doesn't communicate well Rules constantly changing Management tends to play favorites Corporate is very greedy - concerned more with turning a profit than offering reasonable services

    Advice to Management

    Team up and make up your minds

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2014-06-02
Found 498 reviews