Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Employee Reviews about "great people"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 499 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was a very easy job to attain that had flexible hours to work around my classes(in 19 reviews)

  • "Free Food, Flexible and everything else is dependent on your boss(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay rate for a position that required an abundance of experience(in 27 reviews)

  • "Things are not always organized, Upper management takes a long time on decision making(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Regional Vice-President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Vice- Preient in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great people; fun, learning environment. Great Food!

    Cons

    Can get caught up in short term results; struggling to provide outstanding food and guest service at below market pricing.

    Advice to Management

    Still a fairly new regime; keep to your principals. Continued focus on the long term and bringing in some great talent.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-11-03
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, great people to work withz

    Cons

    Pay is low for the amount of work.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-12-04
  3. "I enjoyed my time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Shift Leader in Lakeland, FL

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

      Pros

      Great people and fun job!

      Cons

      not much pay for management

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-11-30
    • "Supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time

      Pros

      Fun environment to be in. You meet alot of great people

      Cons

      The job does not pay enough for the duties required

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-11-28
    • "Good and bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

        Pros

        Working with students and different personalities and a fast paced environment. Multi cultural work environment. I've met a few great people I'll never forget.

        Cons

        Unappreciated. overworked, poor recognition,Low salary, poor raises, upper management only worried about bonuses, heartless company, crazy healthcare increases, long hours, no support from upper management, Slow vacation accrual.

        Advice to Management

        Pay your managers a competitive salary and pay male and female managers equal based on experience, skills and seniority.

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-09-29
      • "Good Company but..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Marketing Assistant 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great people high up in the company. Truly care about you and training you right. Good starter job. Got me into the field I wanted.

        Cons

        Each account is different and sometimes people don't get correct training. Expectations are not level across all accounts. Local management can be very different than higher-ups.

        Advice to Management

        Be consistent!

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-05-20
      • "assistant director of dining services"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        Great people to work with, Management cares about the staff.

        Cons

        Long Hours, Working on the floor during meal times as a jack of all trades, Wearing many hats at once due to shortage of staff.

        Advice to Management

        I Dont have any advice, the management are great with dealing with our crews nd tkes the time to listen to their concerns.

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-03-21
      • "Student Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

        Pros

        great people to work with, and job was not awful work. good experience

        Cons

        Boss over worked student and had unrealistic expectations.

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-03-01
      • "Food Service Manager"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Food Service Manager in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great people, food, Service, hospitality and students.

        Cons

        Long hours, standing, not long enough vacation, and more pay.

        Advice to Management

        They are great.

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2015-06-24
      • "food service worker"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

        Pros

        the pros of working at chartwells are they are great people to work with and have good work ethics and expect the same from everyone

        Cons

        the cons of working at chatwells are the work is a bit tiring and some times we are understaffed and have to cater to a large number of customers which can be exhausting for us as well as for the customers

        Advice to Management

        hiring more people is advisable and can study the time pattern of the customers and the rush hours and can schedule the staff accordingly

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2015-06-09
      Found 499 reviews