Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Employee Reviews about "long hours"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 499 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was a very easy job to attain that had flexible hours to work around my classes(in 19 reviews)

  • "Free Food, Flexible and everything else is dependent on your boss(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay rate for a position that required an abundance of experience(in 27 reviews)

  • "Things are not always organized, Upper management takes a long time on decision making(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dining Services Director 

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Christmas break, spring break and summers reduced workload

    Cons

    Long hours, no training and 6 day workweek

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-05-09
  2. "DO IT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in Plattsburgh, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good growth opportunity within the company

    Cons

    Long hours and standing for a long period of time

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2019-02-05

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    February 28, 2019Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate the contribution of our current and former associates, we're glad to hear that you appreciated the career growth opportunities at Chartwells Higher Education. We understand our managers work very hard and at times long hours. Thank ...

    Show More
  3. "fed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good friendly staff and nice work environment

    Cons

    high turnover , long hours

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-04-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poorly managed and too much control at the unit level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Free food, good insurance, and opportunity to take on a lot of extra projects

    Cons

    Overworking people, long hours, awful attitudes from account leaders that have been there way too long.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on improving the leadership abilities of "old timers" that have been in foodservice 10+ years. They bring down morale and make the work environment insufferable.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-03-30
  5. "It is okay for students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

    Pros

    Flexible with student's schedule. pay twice a month. free meals

    Cons

    labor working. Standing for long hours

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-10-15
  6. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

      Pros

      Working with students and different personalities and a fast paced environment. Multi cultural work environment. I've met a few great people I'll never forget.

      Cons

      Unappreciated. overworked, poor recognition,Low salary, poor raises, upper management only worried about bonuses, heartless company, crazy healthcare increases, long hours, no support from upper management, Slow vacation accrual.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your managers a competitive salary and pay male and female managers equal based on experience, skills and seniority.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-09-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Server/utility"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Food Service Worker in College Station, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time

      Pros

      Met some great hardworking people. Talking to the students and helping them with their college experience. Fun and fast paced environment.

      Cons

      Long hours, low pay. Management was always changing the rules. It's just a college student job. I stayed for a year and a half then left because it was hard to get time off. Lots of lazy unmotivated workers.

      Advice to Management

      Learn to communicate one common objective to workers instead of changing things all the time. Treat your workers better.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-08-10
    • "Great Place to start"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Student Worker in Springfield, MO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Friendly workplace Patient with freshers

      Cons

      Long hours can get tiring

      Advice to Management

      Kudos keep up the good work

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-07-10
    • "Hard to win"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Chef 
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Chartwells offers decent manager's pay but with no bonus package and has pretty good benefits with vacation, 401k, insurances, etc.

      Cons

      Long hours for a salaried manager, hard to make monthly numbers with the set amount of resident dining dollars, crappy recipes from a terrible computer program.

      Advice to Management

      Negotiate better contracts

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-07-12
    • "assistant director of dining services"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Great people to work with, Management cares about the staff.

      Cons

      Long Hours, Working on the floor during meal times as a jack of all trades, Wearing many hats at once due to shortage of staff.

      Advice to Management

      I Dont have any advice, the management are great with dealing with our crews nd tkes the time to listen to their concerns.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-03-21
    Found 499 reviews