Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Employee Reviews about "upper management"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 495 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was a very easy job to attain that had flexible hours to work around my classes(in 19 reviews)

  • "Free Food, Flexible and everything else is dependent on your boss(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay rate for a position that required an abundance of experience(in 27 reviews)

  • "Things are not always organized, Upper management takes a long time on decision making(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "My review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Baker in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up if you want

    Cons

    Terrible upper management. No training protocol when moved to a new location or job with in company. No transparency. High turnover in employees

    Advice to Management

    Care about your people who work for you. They are the ones who make you money.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-05-21
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time

    Pros

    Decent benefits, great customers awful upper management

    Cons

    Upper management is very degrading and disrespectful to all lower level employees. If you aren’t in the click they make you feel very inadequate. They do not base promotions in experience but on if you fit with them. It’s a very sad situation and continues to get worse. No life work balance

    Advice to Management

    Get it together treat everyone with respect.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-05-25
  3. "lol "compensation""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Naperville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Decent school job. My boss and my co-workers were the best part about it.

    Cons

    Upper management exploits the hourly employees to a ridiculous amount. They (he) doesn't care what you've done, how long you've been there, he's just trying to save as many pennies as possible so he gets a bonus. They work you to the bone and don't show you any sort of appreciation.

    Advice to Management

    Give the workers some dignifying compensation.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-08-17
  4. "Director of Catering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Cater in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the clients. I prepared menus, set up design, and execution of events. I was responsible for managing serveral servers.

    Cons

    Upper Management was very demanding and under appreciating. I was underpaid and overworked. I was not given the proper staff and expected to work several large events by myself.

    Advice to Management

    I think that having a supportive crew is the best way to run a successful business. Great communication is a key factor. Also, having a clear understanding of everyone's tasks and expectations is very important. Not only knowing your staff, understanding your clientele and their needs and visions are a must.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-08-31
  5. "I enjoy working for Chartwells"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food Service Worker in Worcester, MA

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the People are very nice.

    Cons

    Upper management sometimes makes it a very tense place to work. The turnover rate is very high.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure to frequently say "thank you" or "job well done" to all employees. A more formal training package about the ins and outs of each position would be very helpful.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-03-02
  6. "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Met good people. The more responsibilities the more experience and independence you gain.

    Cons

    Upper management was poor and barely took any action to help out the supervisors. Majority of staff was rude and lazy and there was no disciplinary action taken over by upper management which made the job even more frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Better hiring process and be more hands on to actually support those who want to grow with the company.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-01-09
  7. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

    Pros

    lots of locations, pretty logo

    Cons

    poorly trained upper management, would rather keep you in a place to satisfy client instead of rewarding you for your good work - very limiting

    Advice to Management

    Get educated and take care of your peopl

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-12-16
  8. "Worst job I have ever had!! Do not work for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Executive Chef in College Station, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

      Pros

      For the most part, I had a good staff. The staff had some morale issues due to low wages and no opportunity for increases. The students were nice.

      Cons

      The upper management was ignorant and neglectful. A couple of my employees and I were physically and verbally assaulted in my office. In spite of all of the evidence and witnesses to the incident, the management did nothing about the psychopath chef who assaulted us. The result of this was that this company lost several good, hard-working people because they wanted to bury the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Steve Sweeney needs to re-evaluate the people he trusts to run the business. They are sadly lacking in any kind of work ethic or personal ethics. They do not know anything about managing people.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-12-06
    • "Good and bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

        Pros

        Working with students and different personalities and a fast paced environment. Multi cultural work environment. I've met a few great people I'll never forget.

        Cons

        Unappreciated. overworked, poor recognition,Low salary, poor raises, upper management only worried about bonuses, heartless company, crazy healthcare increases, long hours, no support from upper management, Slow vacation accrual.

        Advice to Management

        Pay your managers a competitive salary and pay male and female managers equal based on experience, skills and seniority.

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-09-29
      • "cashier"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Cashier 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        I worked at a restaurant owned by Chartwells on my college campus. It was a very convenient and very fun job. Management was more than willing to work around my class schedule at the time.

        Cons

        Upper management was a bit of a pain to work with.

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-08-08
      Found 495 reviews