Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Employee Reviews about "work environment"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 498 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services CEO  Lisa McEuen
Lisa McEuen
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was a very easy job to attain that had flexible hours to work around my classes(in 19 reviews)

  • "Free Food, Flexible and everything else is dependent on your boss(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay rate for a position that required an abundance of experience(in 27 reviews)

  • "Things are not always organized, Upper management takes a long time on decision making(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Manager in Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager-In-Training in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    great investment in their people, fast paced work environment

    Cons

    communication can be lacking in such a large company

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-11-16

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services Response

    November 30, 2018Director of Brand Voice and Digital Strategy

    Thanks for leaving us a review. We are so glad to hear you’re enjoying your experience in the Manager in Training Program. Our people are the secret to our success and we are glad to hear that you see Chartwells Higher Education as a company who invests in their people. Thank you ...

    Show More
  2. "Food and Beverage Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Purchase, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a very friendly work environment with plenty of training. They are safety above all else, and the company treats its employees well.

    Cons

    There is a very specific way things have to get done, and order from the exact vendors. There's not a ton of wiggle room for free movement.

    Advice to Management

    Get to know your employees, know what they like and don't like to do and what they are truly looking for from the company

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-10-10
  3. "Team Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time

    Pros

    Good work environment and nice people around.

    Cons

    Pay is low for the living standards

    Advice to Management

    Must work on managing work

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-07-26
  4. "fed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good friendly staff and nice work environment

    Cons

    high turnover , long hours

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-04-30
  5. "Why I would recommend working at Chartwells"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness in Fayetteville, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - supportive work environment - understanding leaders and managers - flexible hours/scheduling - opportunities to learn and grow - opportunities to make more money - energetic environment - diverse

    Cons

    - diversity can lead to conflict in a work place - high responsibility - difficulty clocking-in

    Advice to Management

    I would just suggest adopting a time-clock system that is fully functional, right now clocking-in is a pain!

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2018-04-04
  6. "Assistant Director Dinning Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Experienced local management team. True desire to provide quality product, and a fair and pleasant work environment.

    Cons

    Better communication between managers, and the ability to all work towards the same goal would vastly improve the bottom line.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-09-04
  7. "Part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

    Pros

    -On UWF campus - Work around schedule -Pleasant work environment

    Cons

    -Small working space -Hot -Repetitive and boring

    Advice to Management

    Be more consistent and stop changing up the menu so much.

    Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2017-05-15
  8. "Good and bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

      Pros

      Working with students and different personalities and a fast paced environment. Multi cultural work environment. I've met a few great people I'll never forget.

      Cons

      Unappreciated. overworked, poor recognition,Low salary, poor raises, upper management only worried about bonuses, heartless company, crazy healthcare increases, long hours, no support from upper management, Slow vacation accrual.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your managers a competitive salary and pay male and female managers equal based on experience, skills and seniority.

      Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-09-29
    • "Prep Cook"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rolla, MO
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Fast paced work environment helps time go by quickly

        Cons

        Lack of employee discipline for absences

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-04-03
      • Helpful (2)

        "Director of Dining Services IV"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Director of Dining Services in Phoenix, AZ
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services

        Pros

        Part of a region of directors, managers, and chefs that help each other. Company-provided purchase card and cell phone Encouraged to run your unit (or multi-units) like a business owner. Challenging, fast-paced, multi-tasking work environment. Impressive sector of the Compass Group Company

        Cons

        The company (Chartwells) is too big for its britches. The company is fractured in its operation, network and support I personally did not receive the onboarding training that I was expecting (in-writing) Directors put in up to 80 hours per week. ( I averaged 60) The accounting and management expectation is completely different from any management position I've had before Salary is approximately $5K-$10K LESS THAN...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Either hire extremely-experienced multi-unit general managers, regional directors, or business owners, or provide proper training along with reasonable performance expectations.

        Chartwells Higher Education Dining Services2016-01-18
      Found 498 reviews