Chase Mortgage Banker Reviews | Glassdoor

Chase Mortgage Banker Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 74 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Jamie Dimon
30 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Mortgage Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Chase has a very strong reputation and Client flock to Chase when there is uncertainty

    Cons

    Chase is very very very conservative and slow to adapt to change.

    Advice to Management

    Be nibble.

    Chase2018-05-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private Client Mortgage Banker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chase full-time

    Pros

    Experience working for one of the largest banks

    Cons

    Difficulty closing loans in a timely fashion , horrible mortgage software and processing and underwriting located in different states and time zones

    Advice to Management

    Processing and underwriting in the same state as the mortgage banker , and for God’s sake streamline the software .

    Chase2019-01-15
  3. "Great Benefits, Stressful Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits like healthcare, retirement, pension, and free fitness classes on site. There are cafeterias in the main corporate buildings that carry many different options. The pay isn’t terrible compared to the rest of the industry. Many different opportunities to move up within the company.

    Cons

    Work/life balance isn’t the greatest, as you are expected to work overtime to be viewed as a dedicated employee. Internal promotions are heavily favored and many times unfair, but at the same time I’ve seen a lot of promotions be fairly selected based upon experience needed. Changes in the department are rapid and without much warning. Sales quotas are high, but the leads are low. Compensation structure keeps changing,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to ideas from employees. Don’t shut down creativity just because it doesn’t follow the status quo.

    Chase2018-08-17
  4. "Sr. Mortgage banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mortgage Banker in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Everyone is nice to work with. If you wortk hard you can make money.

    Cons

    Hard to get to management level. No diversity in Management level.

    Advice to Management

    Nope. You are stock in one place for ever. That's why I left. No diversity in Management level.

    Chase2017-12-04
  5. "Mortgage Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits are close to the best around

    Cons

    You are just a # due the the size of the firm and job security is not there.

    Chase2017-10-05
  6. "Home equity loan officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Good hours, no ability to take work home. Good time off allowances and paid vacation time.

    Cons

    Questionable work environment with fluctuating upper management. Stressful environment. Redundant day to day duties. Difficult to be recognized positively for performance.

    Chase2017-07-27
  7. "Mortgage Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banker in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Excellent Management and support. Good opportunity from a network around you. Good structure. The harder and smarter you work... the more you earn. I listed the commission as a range. "Up to" $6k commission plus base, depending on work ethic and smarts! It was also a fun environment within the branch and other team members.

    Cons

    At the time processing was backlogged. That may have changed by now! That was a few years ago. Please contact someone working there for more updates.

    Chase2017-06-06
  8. "Mortgage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The brand, for the most part, helps open doors and sell.

    Cons

    "Big Banks" still not looked at favorably. Management is lacking in skill set, and constant reorg lessens the ability to plan career advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Learn more about your employees.

    Chase2017-04-13
  9. "Great everyone is nice to talk to."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Banking Credit Program Underwriter in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I am safe inside of work and I if I get hungry I can eat in the cafe area. I want to stay late and finish my job for the day without feeling sad about it.

    Cons

    I am tried at times and some rest right away. Inside I must keep working so I must wait to rest.

    Advice to Management

    Feel great about your self.

    Chase2016-11-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Relations Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Banker Default - Customer Relations Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase for more than 2 years

    Pros

    If you have good Supervisor it can be a fantastic place to work!

    Cons

    Lay offs are constant and the third party company that they hired to help find us jobs is a joke. The way you move up is who you know and not what you know.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to come to the floor and actually speak with the people that make things happen and minus out the middle management that try to micro manage everything. The way you move up is who you know and not what you know.

    Chase2016-06-15
Found 74 reviews