Chase Personal Banker II Reviews | Glassdoor

Chase Personal Banker II Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Jamie Dimon
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Company With Global Awareness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One thing that I love about Chase is how much goes on without publication. "Behind the scenes" great things happen all over the world, not in a sneaky distrusting way, but in the way that Chase does it without needing glory or press coverage. The people that I've worked with are by far the best part of the job. Partially because we're all part of a small team, but also because that's what we all are; people. And those...

    Show More

    Cons

    Any cons I have to share are of my own opinion and my opinion only. As someone who does not live in a generally planned or regulated style, the switch for me to the highly regulated and monitored environment can be difficult. I have been told, however, that this is the way of corporate. I know that regulations are a necessity in a field such as finance, but sometimes it feels slightly overbearing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, and make sure that your team knows you're there for them. Simple words of encouragement in a stressful environment can make a world of difference.

    Chase2017-01-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Personal Banker 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to stay open until 7pm. Small pension. Christmas bonus was $250 into your IRA.

    Cons

    The branch goals are just asinine. The employees have next to no sway in which way they move toward day their goals. The incentives bankers can receive are changed yearly. The corporate culture is just so phony and they encourage associates to be lapdogs.

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within. The managers are an important role that gets little oversight. The goals that many branches work towards are designed to make sure not every branch is performing. Managers constantly have a 'focus' each quarter, for example, our focus is to use peoples names 3 times in an interaction, also it's to grow our balances, also it is to help people use more bank services, also it's to make sure each day...

    Show More
    Chase2019-01-09
  3. "Great company name to place on resume."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker II in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, OK benefits, and plenty of paid time off. Well structured and consistent training. Clear communication of changes and updates happening across divisions and industry.

    Cons

    In my experience, at my branch, there was alot of passive aggressive favoritism, mess, and subtle but obvious hostility which also included my Branch Manager. I reached out to the Market Director (unknown to me) who was a perpetuator of the confusion. I felt stuck and stagnant, so like the many bankers before me, I left. However, every Chase branch has a different culture and personality. Chase as a company is amazing,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Upper management and HR should develop a proactive communication with it’s new hires, and implement a routine system that allows for feedback and official review of superiors. I acknowledge there is AccessHR and someone to call, but new hires are a lot less prone to reach out and “make waves” during their initial year, which is why a system should be put in place for feedback of superiors to a safe and unbiased division...

    Show More
    Chase2018-02-03
  4. "Great environment to work at fast paced non stop traffic."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II in Skokie, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time

    Pros

    Benefits good co workers great training opportunities to move up whether on a branch level or a corporate one. Decent salary plus commission

    Cons

    No parking long hours 4 days from 8:30 to 6. Micromanaging manager will be going around your office even if it was for no reason like we are a KG students.

    Advice to Management

    Be frank with your employees telling your employees a different story about the same thing means you are lying and can't remember a lie.

    Chase2017-08-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "status quo has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chase full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are very good aka health, insurance, 401k, stock options, etc. coworkers for most branches I worked people are great, I've been fortunate with managers for most part, Good culture good people.

    Cons

    Home/work balance is not always a reality, demands on employees are unrealistic and high pressured. Banker used to mean you're there to serve clients now it's go electronic and people should self serve themselves. No raises in years.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up for your employees protect your sales team they are on the front lines and represent your business. Provide your employees with more support and yearly raises.

    Chase2017-01-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Initiation into Consumer Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase

    Pros

    Training, Bonus Structure, Benefits, Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Corporate Culture, Skeletal Staffing, Little in the way of upward mobility

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, provide more staffing hours, and follow through on your commitment to upward mobility

    Chase2016-11-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Personal Banker II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Time off, and ability to schedule sick time.

    Cons

    If you have a slow month it affects your pay tremendously. A manager can ask you to transfer to another branch but you will have a hard time asking to be transferred to a branch closer to home. I've been working far from home for two years now. I've been asking to be transferred closer to home for a very long time. Instead I was transferred to a less busy branch which means less money due to none sales, and farther from...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train managers to be managers and not "Back Ups"

    Chase2016-09-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "My experience with Chase as a corporation has been great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great on the job skill builders, professional development classes you can take on the job, career growth opportunities. Mostly performance based.

    Cons

    They don't do much for employee conflict, if you have an issue with your manager or another employee you might as well pretend like it doesn't exist, low base salary and a monthly discretionary bonus your manager chooses without set guidelines for everyone; a lot of expectations for little pay and zero title.

    Chase2016-07-14
  9. "Great for career Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker II in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chase

    Pros

    Lot os opportunity within the company, great in developing relationship management skills.

    Cons

    Nothing really I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Chase2016-03-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Chase Is Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Banker II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chase full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of vacation time, great coworkers at the branch level, and great technology. Great starting position.

    Cons

    VERY micromanaged, confusing/unachievable goals, lots of new policies all the time which makes it hard to serve customers, which makes them angry. Higher up management just wants to see numbers, not caring for the indiviudal, not good pay/compensation for some positions. Not a lot of room for advancement, only good for a starting job, not a career.

    Advice to Management

    There are positions at the branch level that deserve much more pay. I have seen incredibly valuable employees leave the company because of low pay, no raises, and feeling unappreciated.

    Chase2016-03-24
Found 49 reviews