Chatham Financial Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Chatham Financial Reviews

Updated 27 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Chatham Financial CEO Michael Bontrager
Michael Bontrager
48 Ratings
  1. "Desktop Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chatham Financial full-time

    Pros

    Open workspace, team mentality, growth promoted.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of

    Chatham Financial2017-10-05
  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The best people. - Acknowledgment for hard work and ability, - Flexibility to switch teams and learn new disciplines.

    Cons

    Still a small company in somewhat of a puberty stage circa 2017.

    Chatham Financial2017-08-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "awesome company to build your career around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Kennett Square, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - smart people you can learn from - purpose-driven culture. you aren't here just to just make money, you are here to make a difference in the financial markets - good compensation - freedom in technology choices so you always feel like you are learning.

    Cons

    - you need to be patient with the interview process. It can take a while, but it's worth working through it.

    Chatham Financial2017-05-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Transaction Ops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here are truly fantastic, willing to teach, experts in their jobs, and make coming into a new job/career incredibly comfortable. Work/life balance is good, pay/bonus is competitive, the 401k is possibly the best I've ever had/heard of. I could not ask for more.

    Cons

    The only real downside is the high cost of health care coverage. They do provide a subsidy to cap your out-of-pocket costs, as well as a yearly HSA "bonus" that helps with the high deductible.

    Chatham Financial2017-01-05
  5. Helpful (8)

    "A very disappointed career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Hedge Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chatham Financial

    Pros

    Challenging work Friendly coworker very casual (although I personally don't enjoy that much)

    Cons

    Healthcare plan is like a joke. The culture is so unique and lack of diversity and everyone thinks and does the work in a very similar way. If you don't compy with the culture, you will receive frequent feedback to force you to comply with "Chathamite way". There's no clear direction as to where you should set the standards at, it seems like if you don't comply with what your leader thinks, you would suddenly... underperform, and you will be left in a shock to realize that no one ever communicates to you about your underperformance, and chatham expects you to learn yourself. Very poop training as well, minimal on the job coach, pretty much expected to learn by yourself with 0 mistakes tolerance

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I am not sure what is the management's goal about this company's development in the future. If it's going to be a national or even world leader of the derivative market, then it needs to have tolerance with diversity and not force people with different styles out of the company.

    Chatham Financial2017-02-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Hedging Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work environment. I really like working with intelligent and passionate colleagues.

    Cons

    None that I have found.

    Chatham Financial2016-12-07
  7. Helpful (11)

    "not what i signed up for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kennett Square, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ceo is inspiring and truly believes in the purposes and values on which the company was founded; family-focused; decent 401k and profit sharing.

    Cons

    most leadership do not believe in the purposes and values; salary is not competitive; health benefits are a complete joke; lack of industry sophistication since most employees only know the "chathamite way" to trade, research and advise; work/life balance does not exist and is only espoused to excuse low pay; company trying to grow too quickly and this will blow up in its face.

    Advice to Management

    remember why/how you got here and realize that when you are wholly profit centered you are leading us astray.

    Chatham Financial2016-10-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Hedging Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial

    Pros

    Phenomenal Work environment. People care about each other.

    Cons

    Not a ton of structure

    Chatham Financial2016-09-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, great co-workers, challenging work, intellectually stimulating.

    Cons

    Being located in a small town, the company has its own small town feel sometimes- you can be in or out in various ways

    Chatham Financial2016-09-21
  10. "Great tech team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Kennett Square, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chatham Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chatham has assembled an amazing team of talented and friendly people who are working together to build a modern scalable financial services platform. Everyone strives for excellence and takes pride in their work.

    Cons

    Relatively flat structure can be intimidating as people try and find their niche. Sometimes there is a lack of clear and decisive technology leadership and it can feel like teams are going off in different directions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging people to innovate and reward success and failure as through failures we learn what works and what doesn't.

    Chatham Financial2016-07-09
Found 60 reviews