Chattem Chemicals Reviews | Glassdoor

Chattem Chemicals Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chattem Chemicals full-time

    Pros

    You are working with people who are educated and truly passionate about their work.

    Cons

    The hiring process takes too long.

    Chattem Chemicals2017-07-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Chattem Chem research review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chattem Chemicals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Lunch pizzas and drinks

    Cons

    R&D department is a disgrace solely due to an imported, awful R&D manager with atrocious management skills, barely qualifying as an organic chemist. No credits given for the contributions, and above all no research mindset. Bullying is the standard tactic employed for years specifically towards foreign employees, stuck due to their visa restrictions. Heads up warning for foreign or american chemist, to... bolt before they join R&D dept in Chattem Chem and mess up and totally ruin their future prospects.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't give deaf ears.

    Chattem Chemicals2018-06-27
  3. "Chemical Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemical Operator in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chattem Chemicals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary is on time and have work most of the time.

    Cons

    Very Bad Management. Overworked and shortage of operators.

    Advice to Management

    Not really.

    Chattem Chemicals2018-05-15
  4. "Upper management no clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN

    I worked at Chattem Chemicals full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked for 7 years. Good benefits, ins, 401K. Employees friendly.

    Cons

    Expect very long hours 60-70 hr/week at average salaried wage. No thanks, not even recognition that you really do anything for them. Don't care that you work these hours, and ok to work on weekends too after a 60-70 hr week. Work life poorly conducive to family.

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN to your employees. Recognize value of employees who do their job and reward them as such. Have seen many very valuable employees leave due to this. Upper management very greedy but do not pass down thru ranks. Recognize that you don't know about everything.

    Chattem Chemicals2018-01-29
  5. "Chemist review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Chattanooga, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chattem Chemicals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good health benefits and good coworkers.

    Cons

    Exclusively for benefit of few individuals, rest of the staff are expendable. Pay is the lowest in the industry. Zero promotion even after immense contribution. Overseas employees are absolute cheap labor for the management doing double the work for zero career growth.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Chattem Chemicals2017-12-23
  6. "chemical operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operator in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chattem Chemicals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime. Good Training.

    Cons

    Too much overtime. Not enough Management interaction

    Advice to Management

    Reduce overtime.

    Chattem Chemicals2017-06-05
  7. "Chemist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chattem Chemicals full-time

    Pros

    Great direct management, flexible scheduling and caring coworkers

    Cons

    Very low pay, lowest in the market perhaps. Higher management is very uncaring and strict.

    Chattem Chemicals2017-05-01
  8. "Research Chemist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chattem Chemicals

    Pros

    Jerry Patton, head of research lab

    Cons

    Somewhat inflexible for shift workers

    Advice to Management

    Try employee suggestions for improvement

    Chattem Chemicals2017-04-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "chemical operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemical Operator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chattem Chemicals full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay isnt tops in industry but the people care about you. E xcellent medical benefits and consistent overtime.

    Cons

    Only 10 days vaction and inadequate 401k match.

    Chattem Chemicals2016-03-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Glad I finally got hired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chattem Chemicals full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, reasonable hours, extremely caring managers

    Cons

    none that I have experienced

    Advice to Management

    thanks for caring about your employees. glad i finally was hired as i've applied several times.

    Chattem Chemicals2015-08-17
Found 14 reviews