KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Check 'n Go

Is this your company?

Check 'n Go

Add a Review

Check 'n Go Employee Reviews about "loan"

Updated Feb 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 479 reviews

3.1
40%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Check 'n Go President Doug Clark    (no image)
Doug Clark
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay, work-life balance, upper management(in 21 reviews)

  • "Service should be a given and it is with Check N Go(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "During my employment, there were many days I had to work alone(in 23 reviews)

  • "Interest rates for customers is awful, making you known as a loan shark(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    929

    88 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Check 'n Go and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "loan"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      I loved working at Check 'n Go

      Jan 17, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I considered the job to be really easy. We processed personal loan applications. Filled accurately, handled cash, computers worked well, tidy up the store. All easy, for minimum wage.

      Cons

      Sorry to say, I worked at 6 Check 'n Go locations, not all store managers or associates are team players/lazy. But those are in every job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Check 'n Go Response

      Director Marketing

      Thank you for your time and contributions to the company. We continuously put forth efforts to develop and maintain our store managers as we understand that they are vital to our business as are all employees. We have processes and procedures in place to hold store managers accountable and those will continue to develop and revise as we move forward. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I am a current Store Manager

      Feb 25, 2021 - Store Manager in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO immediately when you start. Doing kinda your own thing as in what u listen to or how you approach a loan.

      Cons

      Management, pay, insurance, micromanaging, way too many calls!!!!! That has made me loose SO MUCH business over it! And since covid hit now we were super late getting protected as a employee! They also expect you to work 6 days a week and travel all over the place to help out other districts! It’s all over nothing great anymore as it was a year ago! The raise we all got as a 3% life of living kinda made me mad as we didn’t get any bonus or covid pay for working all these hours!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Check 'n Go Response

      Director Marketing

      Check `n Go strives to provide a desirable work environment, our employees come first. We continually evaluate our service structure and how it impacts our staffing model, ensuring it is appropriate and sustainable for our stores. The safety of our customers and employees is a top priority. In response to the Covid pandemic we complied with all local pandemic response requirements, we increased the frequency of cleaning and sanitation efforts in our stores, and our stores limited the number of in-store customers in an effort to support social distancing while still being there to meet customer need. We appreciate your feedback and also the services you provides am employee of Check `n Go.

    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Police State

      Jan 11, 2021 - Store Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I don't work there anymore

      Cons

      Microphones in the ceiling, cameras everywhere. 200% interest rates on loans to the very poorest among us, the Senior Citizens. This position will have you working single staffed with unrealistic goals set by people who have lost their sense of reality.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Check 'n Go Response

      Director Marketing

      Check `n Go strives to provide a desirable work environment, our employees come first. We continually evaluate our service structure and how it impacts our staffing model, ensuring it is appropriate and sustainable for our stores. We appreciate your feedback and also the services you provided while employed.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Check n go

      May 22, 2020 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work hours. Reliable for a full time job.

      Cons

      Not paid enough for tasks expected to do Corporate micromanaged too much, and would listen in on conversations within the store often. Interest rates for customers is awful, making you known as a loan shark.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Check 'n Go Response

      Director Marketing

      Check `n Go strives to provide a desirable work environment, our employees come first. We continually evaluate our service structure and how it impacts our staffing model, ensuring it is appropriate and sustainable for our stores. We appreciate your feedback and also the services you provided while employed.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      HORRIBLE JOB!! NOT WORTH THE STRESS!! Stay Away

      May 7, 2019 - Customer Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Closed on Sundays. Reimbursed mileage when you travel to other stores.

      Cons

      Let's start off by saying that this company is six years in the past and incredibly understaffed. They paint this nice little picture of how great the company is during the entire interviewing process. It's all lies! They are running super old systems and business modules. I can't believe they are just now introducing online applications! Which shows you just how behind they are. Every customer file is kept on paper, and then you have to type it digitally - so it's constant nonstop printing and typing! Oldschool files, on files on files. Such a waste of time. There is overall very poor administration from corporate, they take forever to handle and resolve issues. It seems like they are constantly throwing new marketing materials and new workload at you and expect you to just do it all on your own. They are just interested in making more money and do not care about the employees whatsoever. On busy days the systems are often crashing. You are constantly having to cover multiple stores in your area because it's understaffed and CSR's are constantly quitting from the amount of stress this job brings!! You are responsible for the collection of all the debt, and keeping track of the numbers on a daily basis and you are expected to let your DDO know day in and day out. They force you to make customers take out loans they KNOW they can’t afford and then punish you when those people go broke and can’t pay it back! DDO's work from home and do nothing all day, just spam your email and have pointless Skype calls with you twice a day. Corporate treats you like you are a kid. They will give you endless cookie cutter scripts and online training that you have to recite and memorize. The corporate training is with cartoon characters... seriously...is this a joke... then they want you to color code your whiteboard and activities worksheet, and keep a BINDER of your sales scripts...is this 4th grade??. You do all the hard work while DDO's get the credit and bonuses for your work! CSR's and Managers are pushed and forced to meet their quarterly numbers even though we have very little control in how many customers come in to take out loans. If no customers come in = it looks bad on you. And if you do a tremendous job, congrats = you're still making the same low hourly wage. You lose either way. You are dealing with a lot of fraudulent people on a constant basis and unhappy customers as well. A lot of the times you will be working by yourself which accumulates a lot of stress and anxiety. A 30 min lunch window which sometimes turns into no lunch at all. It will take roughly 40 mins to process a new loan - which is ridiculous - that's with all the paperwork they make customers sign, and verifications you have to do... that doesn't even include that the system might end up denying them anyways... so you just wasted 40 mins of your time registering them while there are other people in the lobby waiting! Your store might be piled up with customers, all while the phone is ringing nonstop from new clients who are piling up with questions about how they received an ad in the mail... There definitely isn't any room for growth and I can't believe you have managers who have been with the company for over 9 years... with so much lack of progress and room to grow in the company.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It's a job

      Mar 14, 2019 - Store Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a job and since the turn over rate is so high you can advance to store manager easily, but that's where the advancement stops and you won't get paid much as a store manager, usually like a couple dollars more than minimum wage. Hours are okay, easy policies to follow, time consuming training but it's easy training, and most customers are friendly.

      Cons

      Unrealistic goals, favoritism by some management, working alone mostly, being talked to like your stupid by management (this is everyone at the store level, we all are sent emails by upper management that talk to us like we are stupid or not doing our jobs because we are not getting someone to take a loan out at 99% APR every day/ the expectation is one loan a day minimum), they do not advertise on tv they send junk mail to peoples' address as a way to get business,but they will blame you for people not coming into your location, there are hardly any opportunities to advance, store employees do not feel appreciated, upper management will make you feel like nothing you ever do is good enough, raises are based on meeting unrealistic goals, and the pay is low for how much stress you are put under.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      HORRIBLE PLACE TO WORK! Stay away!

      Oct 17, 2018 - Store Manager in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much. The hours, I guess.

      Cons

      EVERYTHING! They force you to make customers take out loans they KNOW they can’t afford and then punish you when those people can’t pay it back! The management is AWFUL! Most of them are sleeping together, so unless your cool with sexual harassment, it’s not the place for you! HR complaints go unnoticed, so don’t even bother...they’ll just fire you for complaining.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Check 'n Go Response

      Division Vice President

      It’s disappointing that you feel this way about your job. We pride ourselves on helping customers when they need it most, and when they may have nowhere else to turn to get the funds they need. Ethical and professional behavior is a key component of our EPIC belief system. We do not tolerate harassment or inappropriate behavior from our managers or anyone else. On a regular basis, associates from the executive level on down are required to take training designed to identify and prevent workplace harassment. An open door policy is in effect at the stores in all the regions where we operate. Associates also have a way to report incidents at the corporate level, through the “I Agree” form on our intranet. We review and investigate HR complaints promptly. If you truly have any complaints like the ones you describe, we encourage you to report them immediately through one of the channels mentioned above.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Customer Service Representative

      Aug 7, 2018 - Customer Service Representative in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO. Dental and medical benefits

      Cons

      Check N’ Go was one of the worst places I have ever been employed at. I was left to work alone 90% of the time. This made it extremely difficult to take breaks or even use the restroom. We were all expected to cover other stores when people would call out except for the district managers favorites. Every morning we had mandatory Skype meetings where we had to recite scripts and waste 45 minutes doing nonsense. One person was expected to do it all. From doing deposits, buying supplies, cleaning the store, collection calls, helping customers and meeting goals. Too much work too little pay. These type of places should be out of business forcing your employees to push the maximum loans on customers that can not afford to pay your high interest loans back. Last check was paid two weeks late which is illegal in the state of California by the way. Save yourself the trouble and look else where.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Branch Manager

      Dec 17, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hiring process was quick and easy. It felt as if I just applied and was hired rather quickly.

      Cons

      It was very misleading what the job truly entities. It’s basically an updated version of shark loans and horrible practices. They lend such small amounts of loans $500 and then charge insane interest rates to consumer over 100% and in some cases 350% interest rate. People who are in need take out these loans and in return we force them to lay three times the amount they borrowed in a small time frame . When I showed up , associates were just as rude as customers we were giving loans to. But if you step back you can see why they would be upset. After reviewing the public company website and actually look at everything it’s absurd the interest rate is this high.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Do yourself a favor, DON'T.....JUST DON'T.

      Oct 7, 2017 - Customer Service Representative in Bishopville, SC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hmmm let's see.....paychecks do not bounce.

      Cons

      No lunch breaks. Open to close by yourself pretty much every day. Mounds of redundant paperwork. Answer phone, write loans, take payments, close the loans, do the collection calls simultaneously. Your hours are subject to being cut down to 22. Credit scores go this low?? Be sure to make the customer take all they were approved for.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Check 'n Go Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Check 'n Go? Share Your Experiences

    or