ChenMed Reviews | Glassdoor

ChenMed Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 162 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
ChenMed CEO Christopher Chen (no image)
Christopher Chen
111 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "very very stress ful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Referral Coordinator in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ChenMed full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    referral coordinators get along feels like family walking thru the doors

    Cons

    everything is number driven, highly stressful environment, demand too much with little pay, managers do not care about staff or appreciate hard working people, absolutely no opportunity for growth in referrals.

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-09-12
  2. "Patient transportation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Driver in Miami Gardens, FL

    I have been working at ChenMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company good people everyone treat you with respect

    Cons

    When the center messing up my route.

    ChenMed2019-08-31
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Smoke and Mirrors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami Gardens, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChenMed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great people come through the door but, they never stay.

    Cons

    The sweetheart reviews are written by IT leaders trying to improve the overall rating of the company. Nothing is as it seems, they will promise you the world and keep you engaged long enough to burn you out. The objective is to save money, get the most out of the employees, and rarely thank them for keeping a sinking ship afloat. One of the worse places I've worked in terms of work/life balance and investing in employees. They are downright cheap!! Bottom line, this is a toxic place, ran by toxic leaders. You've been warned.

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (3)

    ""Amazing Culture and supportive managers""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChenMed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is constantly enforced. Great pay, supportive leadership team and an opportunity to enrich the lives of seniors. Lots of opportunities for growth through constant leadership training work shops. Vary diverse culture that promotes unity.

    Cons

    Branding. Great company but unfortunately name recognition in the community isn't as strong as it could be. Its a hidden Gem that provides amazing service and a unique mission statement.

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-08-12
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Chen's Impossible Finance Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ChenMed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to help patients that otherwise would have been lost

    Cons

    Questions: - who attends meetings having read no emails or preparatory materials beforehand, yet manages to show up with frustration and ill will layered atop subject matter obliviousness? - who hires cronies and promotes leaders with the similar mindset of no accountability, no execution/follow through, in addition to broad unresponsiveness? - what functional area is overbloated with staff yet still cannot manage to have accurate financial data or an effective plan process, that still searches for relevance via adversarial relationships with other functional areas? - whose obstructionist mindset has directly caused massive staffing shortfalls that are putting ChenMed in existential risk?

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-08-10
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Cheating to Trick You into Working There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ChenMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They will smile to your face while they lie behind your back.

    Cons

    Last year the company was caught trying to increase the score on Glassdoor by cheating (using prizes for good scores). Glassdoor removed those reviews and the score fell again. Having learned from that mistake, the company has started having management do it themselves and “suggest” certain employees leave reviews. Don’t let them trick you. Read the reviews from other doctors, nurses, professionals and others that tell you, in detail what is happening. If a review is talking badly about other employees, instead of poor benefits, bad management, etc - you can guess who wrote it!

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-07-30
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Pawns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physician in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ChenMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    True heart for the under-served and needy. Excellent pay. Love my patients.

    Cons

    Mediocre medical benefits. High deductibles. Micro-managed. Physicians have no say in their own schedules. Used to have a real lunchtime, but no more. Admin has more power than do we. They pretend to listen, but in the end nothing changes. Value and accomplishment measured in terms of patient admissions. But face it- some of us get stuck with very sick and/or non-compliant patients. You can be an excellent physician in this organization, but made to feel like you are doing a poor job. It's all about numbers. Our time is not valued. Keep piling on more and more things we need to do. Expected to call patients, be available for them to call us, see any walk-ins that show up even if it means bumping scheduled patients for non-emergent walk-ins or having no lunch time at all. 10 hours at work and 2-3 at home makes for a ridiculously long day.

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-07-24

    ChenMed Response

    August 2, 2019Chief Medical Officer

    Dear Doctor: I appreciate your feedback and thank you for serving our seniors and loving on them. I'm glad we share that passion for the needy. I would love to help you figure out a better balance. Please call me and let’s work together to see what we can come up with for alternative scheduling options. It’s true we are an outcomes-driven organization and we value results and relationships. We have a scalable, sustainable care model that we can spread to seniors throughout the country and help them live healthier, more fulfilling lives. The link between lower hospital sick days and better health is irrefutable; and the metrics help us make sure we are actually delivering better health. We recognize we do have very sick and complex patients and that is also part of the draw for many mission-driven physicians to make the biggest impact, but it is not easy. Anyway, I would love to connect and address your concerns, build upon that love for your seniors, and help increase your joy in healing. Helping you improve and sustain your situation brings both you and your patients better health, and that is what I am passionate about. Sincerely, Gordon

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Poor CEO, management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Manager in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChenMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was great until CEO came in with his tribe from the previous company

    Cons

    Everything in IT now. This was the best job then turned into a nightmare

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-07-23
  9. Helpful (5)

    "AWFUL PLACE TO WORK,, HORRIBLE CEO AND LEADERSHIP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Network in Miami, FL

    I have been working at ChenMed full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Let Me See,, Ah,,, None !!

    Cons

    Everything about management,,,!!! No directives other than padding their pockets,,,

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-07-19
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Very destructive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Support Engineer in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ChenMed full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free healthcare if you not a parent nor married, 6% match 401k after 1 year, the people and patients, awesome bias against employees of color

    Cons

    "Management" "Team based approach" Egos The ChenMed values kool-aid Micromanagement Excessive strain on employees' health (physical, mental, spiritual) Being forced to accept being lied upon or disrespected Retaliatory practices Threats to employment

    Continue reading
    ChenMed2019-07-06
Found 162 reviews