Chenega Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Chenega Corporation Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Charles W. Totemoff
39 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No raises unless mandated by the government(in 8 reviews)

  • "No room for advancement, just a job(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chenega Corporation full-time

    Pros

    I have worked for Chenega Corporation for 5 years and I have found it to be a very rewarding experience. The leadership at my Strategic Business Unit invests in growing employees within the organization. I have been able to attend several types of training as well as conferences to expand my knowledge within my field and apply back into my everyday work. Would recommend to anyone with a desire to work hard and grow!

    Cons

    No real deal breakers to report.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees.

    Chenega Corporation2018-08-09

    Chenega Corporation Response

    August 13, 2018Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you are enjoying your experience with Chenega. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at feedback@chenega.com.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Chenega Corporation full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at Chenega. They take care of their employees.

    Cons

    Contract work and have to worry about shutdowns or contracts not being renewed

    Chenega Corporation2019-02-22

    Chenega Corporation Response

    March 5, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and recognize the risks associated with contract work. We are always looking for ways to minimize employment impact and to secure continued employment wherever possible. Thank you again.

  3. "Great Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Emergency Dispatch Operator in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chenega Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, with the fringe pay your benefits are all covered from pet insurance to your own health insurance, life insurance and more. They have government contracts all over the world, so you can see the world while you work for the company. Great company to work for over all, will listen to your problems.

    Cons

    Since it is contract work, raises are few and far between if at all, everyone in your position gets paid the same amount, which makes the incentive to stay hard. There are no performance based raises or ways they commend the employees. We cycle through management a lot because we tend to be understaffed and the new management has trouble fixing that because of how long the hiring process is.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out a way to give people incentive to stay, many people that come through see this as an in between job because there are no reasons or promotions or advancements for them to stay.

    Chenega Corporation2019-05-12
  4. "Backstabbing Users of People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Armed Guard II in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chenega Corporation full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good pay for security work.

    Cons

    Employers have absolutely no regard for the safety, well-being, or life of their employees. They do anything possible to deny you overtime pay or benefits, and will promise the moon about advancement opportunities or having the backs of their employees, and then leave them high and dry with no warning or recourse. Never do a thing without getting it in writing with these people.

    Chenega Corporation2019-05-16
  5. "Place for short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Armed Security Guard in Fort Collins, CO
      Doesn't Recommend

      I have been working at Chenega Corporation full-time

      Pros

      There are not any pros

      Cons

      Horrible health insurance Company doesn't care for their employees They don't give raises Because they gave us mandatory sick leave, they took some of our health and welfare benefit from us Can't keep employees.

      Advice to Management

      Quit playing favorites Know what's going on

      Chenega Corporation2019-05-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Don't expect loyalty"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Chenega Corporation full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Pros? Can't think of any

      Cons

      Poorly managed, upper mgt too far stretched

      Advice to Management

      Nothing I say would make any difference

      Chenega Corporation2019-04-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Dishonest and I've contracted Department of Labor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Industry 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Chenega Corporation full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The pay was pretty good.

      Cons

      They were very shady to work for. They weren't honest with me, especially when confronted about particular situations of concern.

      Advice to Management

      Transparency would help you out 100%!

      Chenega Corporation2019-03-26

      Chenega Corporation Response

      April 23, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

      Less than a year of experience? Did you try to voice your concerns through your local management team, HR, or hotline? You are invited to share specifics through feedback@chenega.com, (confidential email box). Let's have a conversation. Appreciate the feedback and wish you ...

      Show More
    • "Very bad place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Buyer 

      I worked at Chenega Corporation full-time

      Pros

      Some nice people to work with

      Cons

      Only upper management advanced to higher positions

      Advice to Management

      Think more about listening to peoples complaints and trust them

      Chenega Corporation2019-03-05

      Chenega Corporation Response

      March 5, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and as you know, we are committed to supporting an open door policy. You are invited to share additional information at feedback@chenega.com Best wishes!

    • Helpful (4)

      "Profit Profit Profit no sharing so don't ask"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chenega Corporation full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      only that there are no drug test so that keeps turnover low look busy and you will do ok free coffee everyother Friday off

      Cons

      No sharing of profits with employees No one to talk to about problems, don't rock the boat don't understand where all the money goes former manager got deals on used gun's from inventory and other items not being used, deals not shared with the rest of the emloyees never saw Charles, never knew until today there was a president of the company

      Advice to Management

      Who gets the profits explain where does it all go, and then share with the employees, give the same deals as the leaders on used guns and other unused office items, look at other items like childcare and commuter reimbursement

      Chenega Corporation2019-03-01

      Chenega Corporation Response

      March 5, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for sharing your feedback and very curious to learn more about your concerns. Please reach out to me at feedback@chenega.com Wishing you the best and again, thank YOU!

    • Helpful (2)

      "Burn out and lack of compassion"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chenega Corporation

      Pros

      There a few managers that seem to care.

      Cons

      This place is very fast moving. I recommend that management take the time to really listen to people’s concern and reward them instead of trying to find failure. Communication is awful throughout the organization..

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and understand them with compassion and not threats..

      Chenega Corporation2019-01-22

      Chenega Corporation Response

      January 29, 2019Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback and appreciate your advice- listening with heart or active listening is key to positive employee engagement. Please feel free to reach out to either your HR Team or to Corporate HR with more specific information or with ideas to improve your overall ...

      Show More
    Found 143 reviews