Cherry Bekaert Reviews

Updated Jun 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Cherry Bekaert Firm Managing Partner Michelle Thompson (no image)
Michelle Thompson
36 Ratings
Pros
  • "Schedules are very flexible which leads to a good work/life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • "Have exposure to all "parts of an audit" and a range of responsibilities early on that you would not see in a Big 4(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "but given this is a public accounting firm, we do work the busy season hours just like any other firm(in 25 reviews)

  • "Can be long hours depending on where you work(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Opportunities for growth with a focus on the individual!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Outstanding leadership, Focused on growth and developing their people, Positive and supportive work environment

    Cons

    I have no cons to share.

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    June 23, 2020HR Senior Manager

    We agree, our growth is exciting! We want our associates to learn and develop and to be successful. It's a win-win for everyone. Thanks for the positive review!

  2. COVID-19

    "Great work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tax season food perks, good pay, diverse environment

    Cons

    Seasonal, tax partners can get feisty

    Continue reading

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    June 12, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Thank you for providing your feedback. It’s great to hear that you are enjoying the diversity, compensation, and tax-season food that the Firm offers. With so much uncertainty around the pandemic, the Firm communicated in a variety of ways. There were frequent messages from our CEO as well as hubs built on the intranet to provide updated COVID-19 responses and resources. The CBCARES site offers Benefits and Wellness information, Learning & Education resources, Technology and IT tips for working remotely, FAQs, Guidelines, video and email messages from the CEO, links to COVID resources, and more. The CB Crisis Resources Hub offers more details on technical matters, webinars, and communications for our clients. We hope that these resources will help you to feel more aware of how the firm is supporting its people and clients through the pandemic. Thanks for taking the time to post.


  3. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexibility - ability to choose career path

    Cons

    - Typical public accounting nature of high employee turnover

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    July 1, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Thanks for the review! Please let us know if there is anything we can do differently to earn a 5 star review. Thanks again.

  4. "Pleasant and collaborative work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always busy, easy to move into new role

    Cons

    Can be asked to work weekends and sometimes have to work super late

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    June 28, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Thanks for the review. From time to time, the client service industry can require long hours so we’re glad to hear that you find the work environment so pleasant. We really appreciate your dedication and hard work. Thanks again for your review!

  5. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shared Services Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for professional growth

    Cons

    Some internal systems are outdated, in need of upgrade

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    June 23, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Thanks for sharing your positive perspective and for choosing to be part of the team at Cherry Bekaert. We’re glad to hear your experience is helping you develop.

  6. "Great company"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert full-time

    Pros

    Atlanta office, staff, and leadership are like one big family

    Cons

    Busy season is is pretty hectic

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    June 16, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to the firm. It is great to hear that you had such a positive experience during your time at Cherry Bekaert! Please consider yourself Cherry Bekaert Alumni and keep in touch.

  7. "Good Launching Pad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start your career, most people in the financial/accounting world know CB and the professionalism of the firm.

    Cons

    Everything depends on the group you are in. In my experience, there was a clear lack of training and then punishment/retaliation for not knowing everything they thought you should.

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    June 23, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. One of the strategic pillars of the Firm is to foster a culture of development and training is a key component. Your comments have been shared with our Learning team and the office. Before you left the Firm, we hope that you used the channels available to our associates to voice your concerns so that we can know more about how we can improve. Thanks again.

  8. "Great Work Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and relaxing place to work at.

    Cons

    No cons, I was very happy there.

    Continue reading

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    May 29, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Thank you for taking a moment of your time to share feedback on your experience at the firm, we truly appreciate it!

  9. "Great Atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People in the south Florida offices are fun and understanding.

    Cons

    Long hours for some departments

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    May 19, 2020HR Senior Manager

    Great to hear you are positively satisfied with your time so far at Cherry Bekaert! We appreciate your input.

  10. "There were many firms operating as one"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Coral Gables, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some portions of the firm were well run, but it was really separate acquired firms in the same building.

    Cons

    HR was non existent. They should have allowed Office Management, which was very competent to act as HR

    Continue reading

    Cherry Bekaert Response

    June 23, 2020HR Senior Manager

    We’re disappointed to hear you did not find the culture at our firm supportive to your needs especially since one of the key components of the Firm’s Shared Value of Collaboration is that we act as one-firm. We agree that our Office Services Lead is very competent, but would encourage our employees to share any concerns with the HR Business Partner who is located in the Coral Gables office. Thanks for your candid feedback, which helps us better understand how we can improve the experience for our employees.

Found 178 reviews