Cherry Bekaert "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cherry Bekaert Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Cherry Bekaert Firm Managing Partner Michelle Thompson (no image)
Michelle Thompson
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance, friendly environment, excellent career opportunity(in 19 reviews)

  • "Much more so than big 4 accounting firms(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "but given this is a public accounting firm, we do work the busy season hours just like any other firm(in 23 reviews)

  • "Long hours during busy season (normal for public), our particular market/office is constantly growing so the demands increase every year(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Making a Difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Director in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Female CEO and Firm Managing Partner; people oriented; vast array of specialists; advancement opportunities; flexibility; continuous learning, training, and growth; diverse culture; leading generational changes; evolving with positive changes; shared values; geographic prominence; and making a difference for our people and our clients.

    Cons

    No different than any CPA firm, there are long hours during busy seasons for both tax and audit. We spend a lot of time with our co-workers who become our second family which is the upside of the long hours!

    Advice to Management

    Keep leading change!

    Cherry Bekaert2019-01-10
  2. "Great place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Culture -Better experience than Big 4 -Decent benefits & salary

    Cons

    -Can be long hours depending on where you work -Doesn't quite have the prestige Big 4 does

    Cherry Bekaert2019-11-14
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, an organization that cares and good work/life balance

    Cons

    Long hours during busy season (normal for public), our particular market/office is constantly growing so the demands increase every year

    Advice to Management

    Manage client retention more regularly, ensure priority on hiring the best people at the right levels and focus on downward support

    Cherry Bekaert2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Public Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lots of young people so good place to meet people

    Cons

    public accounting- long hours, unreasonable demands

    Cherry Bekaert2019-04-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Decent place to work if you are young and single"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time

    Pros

    Got to go to a bunch of places and businesses throughout Virginia.

    Cons

    Long hours, all year round.

    Cherry Bekaert2018-10-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rockville, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, growth-oriented firm, worked for a great manager/team

    Cons

    Benefits are way below average, pay is average, and very long hours. Culture throughout the firm isn’t the greatest, especially of newly acquired firms. Lots of turnover.

    Cherry Bekaert2018-08-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have only been working for Cherry Bekaert LLP for a few months and have had a great experience thus far. As a mid-career professional, it is a big transition to start at a new company and I was very nervous at first. From the beginning the Human Resources Recruiting team was very nice and so helpful. They made themselves readily available whenever I had questions or concerns. The Virginia Beach staff is very welcoming and cordial. The staff is very professional but also a great group of individuals to work with. I enjoy coming into the office and working with my co-workers. Cherry Bekaert has so many great benefits including "MyLife" which is basically being able to have a flexible schedule. The company believes in the balance of work and life therefore giving you the option to work remotely from home on days when more convenient or having a flexible schedule according the needs of your personal life and family. The company has changed the dress policy to "dress for your day" which is exactly what it states. If you have client meetings of course you are expected to be in business attire but if you do not have meetings, it is acceptable to wear jeans or dress business casual. This is a great option to have for me. The Virginia Beach office knows how to have fun! Within the few months I have been employed by the company I have attended several outings including Top Golf. Also, one does not go hungry in this office either as the company provides many breakfasts, lunches, and dinners during busy tax season. Cherry Bekaert takes community service and giving back to the community seriously by raising money every Friday to give to a local charity or cause which the employees choose. I think it is great knowing every Friday a local charity or cause have received a donation with my help. Overall, the company is a great company to work!

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours during tax season but that is to be expected with the business.

    Cherry Bekaert2017-05-03
  8. "Wasn't Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert full-time

    Pros

    Pay is industry competitive. Work hard, play hard culture. Good, albeit young main workforce. Not too bad when slow.

    Cons

    Not the best benefits (i.e. small 401K match, expensive health insurance). Out of town travel. Some periods with LONG hours and tight deadlines / budget pressures.

    Cherry Bekaert2016-05-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Seasonal Administrative Assistant in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert

    Pros

    Friendly partners, great administrative staff.

    Cons

    Long hours, which is to be expected during tax time.

    Cherry Bekaert2015-12-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great entry level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant in Augusta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CPA exam materials are provided for. Laid back management. Reimbursed expenses including CPA exams. Flexible schedules. Friendly employees.

    Cons

    No training. Long hours. Management cultivates favorites over hard workers. Management fails to give constructive feedback until it's too late.

    Advice to Management

    Train new employees and retain good workers but showing and rewarding those workers.

    Cherry Bekaert2015-08-04
Found 15 reviews