Cherry Bekaert "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cherry Bekaert Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Aug 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Cherry Bekaert Firm Managing Partner Michelle Thompson (no image)
Michelle Thompson
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance, friendly environment, excellent career opportunity(in 19 reviews)

  • "Much more so than big 4 accounting firms(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "but given this is a public accounting firm, we do work the busy season hours just like any other firm(in 23 reviews)

  • "Long hours during busy season (normal for public), our particular market/office is constantly growing so the demands increase every year(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Great firm that is going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Dynamic leadership that is looking help the firm evolve and move forward. Competitive pay and good raises. Vacation time is plentiful and I am encouraged to use it. Schedules are very flexible which leads to a good work/life balance. The partners are always willing to listen and truly value employee feedback.

    Cons

    Sometime communications can be a bit slow (example would be changes in metrics that associates will be evaluated on have been released mid-year). Benefits are good for a mid-size firm, but could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on growing the firm and don't get weighed down by administrative red tape.

    Cherry Bekaert2019-08-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, friendly environment, excellent career opportunity. The firm leadership team focus on the development and future of its people.

    Cons

    The company has been growing fairly fast and it is expanding into new services, which is a challenging but creates great opportunities for career development

    Advice to Management

    Keep up with the good work

    Cherry Bekaert2019-01-22
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, an organization that cares and good work/life balance

    Cons

    Long hours during busy season (normal for public), our particular market/office is constantly growing so the demands increase every year

    Advice to Management

    Manage client retention more regularly, ensure priority on hiring the best people at the right levels and focus on downward support

    Cherry Bekaert2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "An overall worthwhile experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant 

    I worked at Cherry Bekaert full-time

    Pros

    A good company to get some valuable experience.

    Cons

    Work/life balance wasn't great, but it's public accounting. Client base was less than ideal.

    Cherry Bekaert2019-05-30
  5. "Big 4 resources, Local firm enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Staff Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    training, work life balance, work load

    Cons

    pay, not all on the same page across the firm

    Cherry Bekaert2019-01-23
  6. "Best Employer I've Had in My Entire Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment which fosters collaboration, accountability, trust and having fun when doing the work. Yes, there are times when it can get more hectic and stressful, but having a great team of colleagues willing to help and gatherings outside business hours help a lot during these times. Great Work/Life balance, plenty of PTO time, numerous opportunities for growth and work on something different.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at this time.

    Cherry Bekaert2018-10-05
  7. "Great employer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance (there is life outside of work) Amazing co-workers (feels like a family) The best boss (understanding and flexible) Challenging work (no day is the same) Opportunities for growth (just ask about it) Ways to earn bonuses/points (who doesn't love a bonus)

    Cons

    Typical busy seasons and time tracking (to be expected, it is accounting)

    Cherry Bekaert2018-09-10
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I enjoy being a part of a growth oriented firm - organically and through acquisitions. We offer much more than just your basic tax and audit. I don't feel locked down to one place. If I want to move to another city somewhere down the line, I know the firm will support me and work with me to transfer to another office. We are also extremely flexible when it comes to work life balance and working hours. Unless there is a client deadline or restriction, I am free to flex half a day on Friday or take an extra long lunch to take care of some errands. I have found my pay to be extremely competitive with other firms. I have been here over 5 years now and have gotten raise every year. I don't think there are many other industries where you can say that. Lastly, while we do have our busy times, our hours are still very reasonable in comparison to the hours I had to work while I was at a Big 4 firm in a different city.

    Show More

    Cons

    The bonus structure has changed over the years. I think having the incentive of cash bonuses rather than "points" would be helpful. While we appreciate the points, nothing compares to an actual bonus.

    Cherry Bekaert2018-09-05
  9. "Good Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time

    Pros

    Schedule flexibility Work life balance Not micro-managed Variety of projects Good fit personally

    Cons

    Salary is not competitive Benefits not strong Very little career movement opportunity

    Cherry Bekaert2018-09-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Don’t do it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Bekaert full-time

    Pros

    Flexible but no work life balance

    Cons

    Nobody cares about you and I bet people don’t even know your name

    Cherry Bekaert2018-08-21
Found 25 reviews