Cherry Creek Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Cherry Creek Schools Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 94 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Cherry Creek Schools CEO Harry Bull
Harry Bull
20 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Paras are not paid for performance, only cost of living increases(in 5 reviews)

  • "Class sizes are still too big, but(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Creek Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Supportive administration and colleagues.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Cherry Creek Schools2019-03-14
  2. "Very good district"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cherry Creek Schools full-time

    Pros

    Salary is competitive, both nationally and in-state. I had wonderful colleagues and administrators. NBPTS teachers earn an annual stipend, paid by the district every year after certification, which most districts in the country do not do. Finally, it's important to note that I left the profession, not the district or the school. If I were still teaching, this would be a great place to be.

    Cons

    Class sizes are still too big, but...many districts are worse off. Still, optimal learning will never occur as long as teachers are stretched to meet the increasing demands of having so many students at once. It's not sustainable and makes work-life balance impossible and teacher burnout inevitable....

    Advice to Management

    (n/a) No issues at my school. I always appreciated that administration and counseling tried to do right by the students.

    Cherry Creek Schools2019-02-27
  3. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Kitchen Manager 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Cherry Creek Schools full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Same hours as my kids

      Cons

      Salary wasn’t great. When you’re a manger you are contracted. You get paid for when your not work by them stretching out you current hourly rate.

      Cherry Creek Schools2019-02-20
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not the polished gem it once was"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Aurora, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cherry Creek Schools full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good opportunities for Professional Development. Good pay scale, even for Denver. An Education Association that tries to stick up for teachers.

      Cons

      This once fabulous district, where creativity was nurtured, workloads were manageable, and administration inspired, has sadly lost it's way. Classroom teachers now have little to no say in what curriculum they teach. They are forced to abandon proven practices in favor of the new trendy (and unproven) programs. Instructional coaches (some with less than 5 years of actual classroom experience) take up valuable planning...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Hire from outside (the new Superintendent is straight from the good ol' boy network), give the power back to the teachers and let them do the job they are qualified to do. Like most organizations that have become too large, the new layers of admin or way more stifling than they are inspiring and productive.

      Cherry Creek Schools2018-12-19
    • Helpful (4)

      "Teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher in Englewood, CO
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cherry Creek Schools full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Salary, colleagues, sick leave policy

      Cons

      Support from administration is lacking. District administration is only concerned with avoiding lawsuits.

      Advice to Management

      Emphasis should be on supporting teachers more, rather than just making sure district policies are implemented.

      Cherry Creek Schools2018-12-03
    • Helpful (1)

      "They don’t walk the walk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Educator in Aurora, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Cherry Creek Schools full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Pay - kids - some coworkers

      Cons

      You have to kiss butt to move up. District level folks are all white and if you are of color you better go elsewhere. Nepotistic departments and if you are horrible at your job they just move you up and away from a potential lawsuit with teachers and parents.

      Advice to Management

      Hire a superintendent outside of district to clean up the white cesspool of racism and bigotry.

      Cherry Creek Schools2018-12-08
    • Helpful (4)

      "Horrible pay for paraprofessionals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Paraprofessional in Denver, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Cherry Creek Schools part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Students and co-workers are mostly wonderful people

      Cons

      Pay is low - not a living wage. Only get two paid holidays a year. I know paraprofessionals who have been working for Cherry Creek Schools for 10 - 20 years and still only make $13 and change per hour. Paras are not paid for performance, only cost of living increases. It's very difficult to take a sick day because there are no para substitutes.

      Advice to Management

      Pay your paraprofessionals more. Give them more paid holidays.

      Cherry Creek Schools2018-11-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Stay away"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paraprofessional in Aurora, CO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cherry Creek Schools full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      A pay check you have you wait a month for.

      Cons

      Lots of racism, poor management, incompetence, highly unsafe/illegal practices with the kids. No advancement unless you're willing to lie and sell your soul.

      Advice to Management

      Stop fighting over who's going to do some work and just work.

      Cherry Creek Schools2018-11-15
    • "teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Cherry Creek Schools full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      great team and supportive community

      Cons

      too many meetings that could be handled in emails

      Cherry Creek Schools2018-10-03
    • "Before and After Care Leader"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Cherry Creek Schools part-time

      Pros

      Every school is different but if you get in at the right one it can be a wonderful and fun work environemnt!

      Cons

      Some schools I've worked in have had really poor management or people in leadership positions that really had no place being there.

      Cherry Creek Schools2018-09-30
    Found 94 reviews