Chesapeake Energy Accountant Reviews | Glassdoor

Chesapeake Energy Accountant Reviews

Updated May 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
5 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work, loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great PTO, connected company

    Cons

    Not a lot, enjoyed every minute

    Chesapeake Energy2019-05-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Accountant- CHK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant I in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company treats their employees very well. Pay, benefits, PTO, and tons of extra over the top perks. Beautiful Campus: Gym and restraraunts are amazing. People are very professional, and there is a laid back environment. They always feed you. It's amazing!

    Cons

    I have no problem with the company. If I have anything bad to say it would be that from stories of the Aubrey days, and even while I was there the company is wreckless with how they spend their money on a ton of unnecessary stuff. It's great when commodity prices are up, but I believe a more cost efficient approach should be implemented for when prices are down. I didn't care for the Accounting job from the start ( so boring) and I wanted to start looking for a new job after three weeks. That's a me problem not a Chesapeake or Accounting problem. Like I said the people are very professional and nice. However it doesn't take more than a couple minutes on campus to realize you are amongst the assembly of perfect people. Aka arrogant people that think their too good for lessor people.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I thought the management was great. They use metrics to measure production. I always found it very impressive how they were constructive without making you feel bad if you had a bad month. They were very encouraging and supportive.

    Chesapeake Energy2016-05-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Accounting Intern - Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accounting Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    - Great leadership team. Those involved in my internship took a personal interest in my growth and regularly encouraged me in my work. - The pay is competitive as well. - Top notch benefits

    Cons

    The only problem with Chesapeake lies in the industry itself. Former leadership brought on a lot of debt; however, the new leadership seems to be taking the company into the right place.

    Chesapeake Energy2016-04-09
  4. "Senior Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay as in all of the O/G companies. Benefits used to be good when I first signed on.

    Cons

    Since the company has had financial distress there have been high layoffs and benefits have been slashed.

    Advice to Management

    Aubrey had the right idea when it came to how to treat his employees. You have gone astray of that and are losing your best employees.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-09-14
  5. "Good Company, Benefits can't be beat!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant III in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits! 15% match on 401k contributions, health center onsite, cheap insurance, etc. Competitive pay!

    Cons

    Some unease in company... Hours really depend which department you are in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being open and honest with employees. Feel like Doug is doing a great job!

    Chesapeake Energy2015-08-11
  6. "Great Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Accountant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, Environment, Pay, and co workers

    Cons

    I really don't have a con.

    Chesapeake Energy2014-12-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Accountant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Lack of adequate training and

    Advice to Management

    Focus on training new hires.

    Chesapeake Energy2014-08-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good people, great amenities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant II in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, restaurants, fitness center, culture

    Cons

    New management, constant change, bonuses decreased

    Advice to Management

    More open communication with employees

    Chesapeake Energy2014-07-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Accountany"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great campus restaurants and gym. The benefits are very competitive. Great community supporter

    Cons

    Horrible supervisors and bosses, they do not recognize past experience. Want to start you at bottom again to test you out in their 60 - 70 hour grind. They love micro manage and brow beat you. Verbal recognition for going above and beyond is little to non existent.

    Advice to Management

    You hire good people. Trust them more and give them verbal recognition. It costs you nothing but a little time

    Chesapeake Energy2014-07-18
  10. Helpful (4)

    "All bells and whistles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice benefits package, loads of bonuses throughout the year, parking was usually pretty easy.

    Cons

    VERY LOW pay, played 'favorites' with employees - no matter how unethical the "ass kissing" was, your ability to play the corporate politics game dictates how far you go in the company. Even though there are a lot of "perks" to working there (food, fitness center, parties, etc.) once you get rid of the bells and whistles you realize that CHK is operating at a very morally bankrupt level and they care FAR more about the bottom line and public image than their employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I honestly do not have any advice. I feel like this place is far too gone to save it now. It is a great place to work, but only if you have that 'special' kind of attitude.

    Chesapeake Energy2013-07-21
Found 11 reviews