Chesapeake Energy Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Chesapeake Energy Intern Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
4 Ratings
  1. "Supply Chain Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Supply Chain Intern 

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    Great place to work for with good incentives and benefits. Everyone is extremely knowledgeable and always is willing to help/teach you. There is great transparency within the company and knowledge sharing tactics are strongly implemented. Great opportunities to connect with upper level management.

    Cons

    Too many meetings. They seek for diversity but if you don't fit into the culture exactly you don't make the cut. How is that furthering the concept of diversity? They're missing out on some untouched talent by excluding people with a little variation from their norms.

    Chesapeake Energy2018-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Accounting Intern - Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Accounting Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    - Great leadership team. Those involved in my internship took a personal interest in my growth and regularly encouraged me in my work. - The pay is competitive as well. - Top notch benefits

    Cons

    The only problem with Chesapeake lies in the industry itself. Former leadership brought on a lot of debt; however, the new leadership seems to be taking the company into the right place.

    Chesapeake Energy2016-04-09
  3. "Okay experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Land Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Lots of benefits such as the gym and the food.

    Cons

    All they care about are themselves. Very sexist in the land department as well. I have seen many great employees get laid off while other less deserving employees stay on board.

    Advice to Management

    Reevaluate your CEO and management decisions. This company did much better with Aubrey, he actually cared about his employees.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-11-14
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Intern 

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed setting and great people.

    Cons

    Company is struggling to stay economical

    Chesapeake Energy2015-11-06
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at Chesapeake. I had every opportunity to grow and learn more about oil and gas. The campus is beautiful and the intern program is probably the best in the nation.

    Cons

    The industry isn't a great place to be right now. Commodity prices are so low and working in oil and gas isn't the best choice sometimes.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-09-01
  6. "Amazing Campus, Average work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    The campus is incredible and the restaurants are delicious, lots of activities going on all the time, friendly and supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Workload was below average: Lots of free time with nothing to do. I asked and was told is was somewhat the culture. Also a volatile company, not something I would feel comfortable at full time.

    Advice to Management

    Management should look at the workload of employees and shoot for a better balance. Culture also feels very rigid and cold.

    Chesapeake Energy2014-07-30
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work, good culture, cares for employees, nice fitness center and health incentives

    Cons

    Wouldn't give me a reference after my internship because I wasn't staying with the company and it is "against their hr policy"

    Chesapeake Energy2013-10-09
  8. "Intern for CHK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great for a summer between semesters. People are nice Benefits(restraunts, gym, etc) are great Summer hours where you get half of friday off

    Cons

    A lot of restructuring is happening at the moment Does not seem to be a place to move up the ladder Did not have enough work consistently

    Advice to Management

    Don't let your employees get bored

    Chesapeake Energy2013-09-23
  9. "One of the best internship programs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - IT Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of intern opportunities to learn not only all about the company, but also to experience OKC and network.

    Cons

    I didn't get to work overtime, but I did get let out early if I worked more than 40 hours a week.

    Advice to Management

    Put more of the lunch and learns toward the beginning of the summer.

    Chesapeake Energy2012-09-12
  10. "I had a good experience during my internship with Chesapeake Energy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Oklahoma City, OK
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    I learned quite a bit during my summer internship that will help me greatly when I enter into the workforce soon.

    Cons

    I had a good experience at Chesapeake over my summer internship. I was a little less guided during my project than some of the other interns I talked to though.

    Advice to Management

    The leadership was great at Chesapeake in my case overall. They have very competent people in charge of their departments.

    Chesapeake Energy2012-04-02
Found 10 reviews