Chesapeake Energy Landman Reviews | Glassdoor

Chesapeake Energy Landman Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
93%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
8 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    So many perks, care about their employees, pretty great comp packages.

    Cons

    I can't really think of any.

    Chesapeake Energy2017-08-31
  2. "Good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Petroleum Landman in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Consistent work and they give us freedom to work on our own

    Cons

    Their database and billing system is time consuming and needs work

    Chesapeake Energy2019-12-10
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Incredible Campus Incredible 401(k) match Work hours are very manageable

    Cons

    Struggling stock price and high debt levels have affected culture.

    Chesapeake Energy2017-11-27
  4. "Was great while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Title Landman in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay was great, it was a 40-hr a week job, never had to work extra. Benefits were fantastic. It was great while it lasted.

    Cons

    My entire dept was eradicated, so that was a bummer. We all knew we were overpaid and that's what led to the company's downfall, in my opinion.

    Chesapeake Energy2017-05-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Same problems as 2010"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overpaid and under-worked. Set your own schedule more or less. Still plenty of perks even with the changes. If you can handle wasting most of your year and then rushing to do some manager presentation than you will find the money earned compared to the work done to be unbelievable.

    Cons

    No leadership, no company direction. After removing the old guard from AKM and replacing them all with new drink the blue yes men and women the same awful company environment was recreated. Instead of having to be "in" with this manager now you have to be "in" with the new manager. Everything that was supposed to be new and make CHK a better place was quickly brushed aside and it is back to who you know, whose back you scratch and who can you gossip about. Sad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The concept of placing technical people in areas they have no experience in because they need to be a "well rounded employee" is only hurting the company. A landman or tech with 10 years experience in East Texas should not be moved to the Rockies because management is worried that they are too valuable and will be recruited away by competition. Use the tools provided correctly and you will actually turn the company around, not just prepare it for sale.

    Show More
    Chesapeake Energy2016-12-20
  6. "Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was great! Work facilities very good. Support was great until the president was let go by the board. Everything changed including what direction they wanted to go. Enjoyed the caliber of people I worked with.

    Cons

    Worked as a contractor so paid my own taxes and needed to get my own insurance. Room for advancement was good in the beginning but when they started having internal problems and downsizing it was limited.

    Advice to Management

    I worked as a contractor in the DFW area. The natural gas prices dropped and the Barnet Shell shut down for the most part. At one time there were over 500 employees and when it went down to 25 I was laid off. To work for Chesapeake today or a company representing them you may have a job today that is gone tomorrow. Chesapeake is going through a lot of internal problems.

    Chesapeake Energy2016-08-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyed my time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Landman II in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    -Fair pay -Great benefits -Great on site amenities -Nice bonus program -Actively involved in OKC & the communities in which they operate -Most co-workers & middle management are easy to get along with -Career development is a priority

    Cons

    -Highly unstable. 2 major layoffs (over 700 employees each) in the 4 years I worked there. -Upper management preaches "core values" they don't live. Specifically transparency & open communication. Holding regular town hall meetings in which you spout off regurgitated industry jargon doesn't, by itself, equal transparency or open communication -Too many unnecessary meetings.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-10-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "New Mangement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Landman II in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Its a good place to work. Lots of perks such as the best child day care and fitness center in the city.

    Cons

    The new management is trying to hard to give Chesapeake a new identity. It has lost its employee focused culture. Upper management has gotten rid of almost all the old management good or bad.

    Advice to Management

    Chesapeake at one point had some of the best employees in the industry. Not saying all the employees were good, but getting rid of managers and executives just because they were there when Aubrey was there is not how to run a business.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-10-13
  9. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Landman in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    Overall this was a solid company to work for. I was treated well but sadly all good things must come to an end. CHK got me into the oil and gas industry and was willing to take the time to train me.

    Cons

    A few bad choices by upper management has continued to be a headache for the company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep fighting to save the company

    Chesapeake Energy2015-08-18
  10. "Could be a lot worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Landman 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy for less than a year

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits were above average.

    Cons

    Disconnect between levels of management, but understood due to company size.

    Advice to Management

    Take a bit more time getting to know the entire team.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-08-07
Found 21 reviews