KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Chesapeake Energy

Is this your company?

Chesapeake Energy

Add a Review

Chesapeake Energy Landman Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 544 reviews

4.7
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
11 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Chesapeake Energy and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Place to work

    Mar 5, 2021 - Landman II in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, great people, great benifits

    Cons

    Stressful, industry boom and bust cycles.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Good people, poor culture

    Mar 24, 2021 - Staff Landman 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart, talented people Great compensation and benefits

    Cons

    Legacy financial issues, poor culture

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Chesapeake Energy struggling

    Dec 24, 2020 - Landman in College Station, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Large company, lots of resources

    Cons

    Financial problems created loss of job

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good opportunity

    Oct 13, 2020 - Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, benefits, work-life balance

    Cons

    Cyclical, poor management, dog eat dog

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Good so far

    Dec 10, 2019 - Petroleum Landman in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Consistent work and they give us freedom to work on our own

    Cons

    Their database and billing system is time consuming and needs work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Same problems as 2010

    Dec 20, 2016 - Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overpaid and under-worked. Set your own schedule more or less. Still plenty of perks even with the changes. If you can handle wasting most of your year and then rushing to do some manager presentation than you will find the money earned compared to the work done to be unbelievable.

    Cons

    No leadership, no company direction. After removing the old guard from AKM and replacing them all with new drink the blue yes men and women the same awful company environment was recreated. Instead of having to be "in" with this manager now you have to be "in" with the new manager. Everything that was supposed to be new and make CHK a better place was quickly brushed aside and it is back to who you know, whose back you scratch and who can you gossip about. Sad.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Once was a great place, then things went downhill quick.

    Apr 23, 2014 - Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gym is nice, for $20 a month.

    Cons

    After Aubrey time, things got tight, less perks. Lots of stress of getting laid off, sold off and canned. Lots of paranoid employees unsure on what the future entails. If laid off they don't vest your 401K unless you have reached their 5 years. 15% 401k match is a joke, they give you 20-25% of it each year after it's earned. The golden handcuffs keep you from wanting to leave, because there will always be money left behind. I only got to keep a faction of my 401k match. Same applies to Stock bonuses, if you leave on your own terms they get to keep all the unvested portion, which is a lot. They got rid of the garden but had to place it back due to land contract from purchase, otherwise that would have been closed too. Any small little benefit that helped them reach Forbes Best, pretty much went away.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Landman

    Aug 19, 2016 - Landman in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was great! Work facilities very good. Support was great until the president was let go by the board. Everything changed including what direction they wanted to go. Enjoyed the caliber of people I worked with.

    Cons

    Worked as a contractor so paid my own taxes and needed to get my own insurance. Room for advancement was good in the beginning but when they started having internal problems and downsizing it was limited.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    New Mangement

    Oct 13, 2015 - Landman II in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Its a good place to work. Lots of perks such as the best child day care and fitness center in the city.

    Cons

    The new management is trying to hard to give Chesapeake a new identity. It has lost its employee focused culture. Upper management has gotten rid of almost all the old management good or bad.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Chesapeake Energy Wins the Day

    Oct 21, 2008 - Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation and benefits are very competitive. The fitness center is a big advantage along with the wellness program, complete with $1,000 in incentives for living a healthy lifestyle. The pace is fast and there are plenty of learning opportunities. The campus and facilities are first rate. The Blue Room theatre is an outstanding place to hold meetings, seminars, etc., and they have a weekend movie program. Vacation policies have become more competitive and worker-friendly in the last few years. The on-campus health facility is convenient and cheap, with a copay of only $5, even if the primary doctor is on a crusade against antibiotics and takes a tough-it-out policy on illnesses. Bi-annual salary and bonus reviews are an outstanding plus. It's the best job I've had and the best place I've worked, and I fell lucky to be here.

    Cons

    The oil and gas industry is cyclical by nature, so you have to be ready for the ups and downs. The ups are stressful because of the frantic pace and pressure, the downs are stressful because of macro-economic worries that the industry will crumble and you will be left jobless, although I don't feel like this will happen to me here. If anything, it's a bit disconcerting that we have done our jobs so well as a company that we've become an attractive buyout candidate, which would not be a good thing for the employees, most of whom would be undoubtedly let go. Like any major company, there is a lot of office politics with which to deal. Many times it matter who one knows or how one can manipulate who one knows. Promotions (concerning titles) have not been handed out very fairly, in my opinion. However, I believe compensation is more closely tied to performance, and salary and bonus reviews come around twice a year.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Chesapeake Energy Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Chesapeake Energy? Share Your Experiences

or