Chesapeake Energy Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
50%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
173 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits with flexible time, reduced work weeks, good health care(in 55 reviews)

  • "The campus is awesome, onsite fitness center, restaurants, healthcare, credit union and daycare(in 35 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great experience, but glad to be moving on..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    awesome gym, daycare center, doctor, dentist, restaurants, 15% 401k match, inexpensive insurance with several beneficial options, generous pto, half day fridays

    Cons

    Employees are great, but due to financial issues, morale is not good. This company doesn't make money and cannot get out of debt

    Chesapeake Energy2019-12-03
  2. "Great people but weak culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People are great, most people likes to share their knowledge and advice.

    Cons

    Management changes directions too frequently. Too many managers.

    Chesapeake Energy2020-05-27
  3. "good with the bad"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great 401k match. up to 15%. lots of PTO. (The vacation and sick time are lumped together and based on how old you are, not how long you've been with the company.) Great health, dental, and insurance benefits. On site fitness center, health center, restaurants and child care. Annual performance evaluation with merit increase and bonuses

    Cons

    Poor leadership and leader development. Layoffs are a regular occurance.

    Chesapeake Energy2020-05-18
  4. "Good company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Systems Adm in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work environment, and great teams

    Cons

    Too many lay offs done in a degrading manner

    Chesapeake Energy2020-05-13
  5. "Enjoyable"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Land Analyst 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Tough environment but great people who work there

    Cons

    Morale is low due to layoffs

    Chesapeake Energy2020-05-09
  6. "Former Employer"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people to work with.

    Cons

    Downturn in industry loss of employment

    Chesapeake Energy2020-05-22
  7. "Good work experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great program of training new engineers

    Cons

    Bankrupcy looming, moral is very low. Wait until after BK to work here if there is anything left.

    Continue reading
    Chesapeake Energy2020-05-16
  8. "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Managers care about career advancement.

    Cons

    Ups and downs of the oil and gas industry

    Chesapeake Energy2020-04-21
  9. "Done"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President Operations in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay was very good there

    Cons

    Executive Leadership was not good there

    Chesapeake Energy2020-04-26
  10. "More potential than substance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I really have enjoyed my time at this company, the perks are outstanding and I really like my day to day. The amount of potential at this company despite the hard times just oozes out of every corner. The place makes me want to believe. And I have to say, I have liked and valued my experience working with almost every single individual contributor I have met in IT. Even the frustrating ones are usually competent and sharp. I feel a great deal of pride and companionship with the people still there.

    Cons

    As I mentioned, "the people still here". That's the problem. We've been shrinking almost every month since I've been here. Morale at this place has cratered. Most people left are actively hoping for a pink slip out of fear of being the one who gets stuck having to turn out the lights without a severance. Worse - upper management is very anti transparency. I sometimes wonder if the active goal is to make people exit from morale.

    Continue reading
    Chesapeake Energy2020-04-09
Found 381 reviews