Chesapeake Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Chesapeake Energy Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
164 Ratings
  1. "Great experience, but glad to be moving on..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Chain 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    awesome gym, daycare center, doctor, dentist, restaurants, 15% 401k match, inexpensive insurance with several beneficial options, generous pto, half day fridays

    Cons

    Employees are great, but due to financial issues, morale is not good. This company doesn't make money and cannot get out of debt

    Chesapeake Energy2019-12-03
  2. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Relations in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Super fun work environment for employees

    Cons

    I have no cons for this company

    Chesapeake Energy2019-11-14
  3. "Great place to work, loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant 

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, great PTO, connected company

    Cons

    Not a lot, enjoyed every minute

    Chesapeake Energy2019-05-16
  4. "Production Engineering Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Engineering Technician in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, great benefits, great pay and a beautiful campus!

    Cons

    Difficulty in switching positions.

    Chesapeake Energy2019-05-12
  5. "The best in town"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Demanding job, but a great place to work

    Cons

    Capital intensive industry that thrives on oil and gas prices

    Advice to Management

    Hang in there, I know it’s tough sometimes!

    Chesapeake Energy2018-10-27
  6. "Geologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits with the 401K.

    Cons

    No cons yet as far as I have seen,

    Advice to Management

    Employee retention

    Chesapeake Energy2018-10-19
  7. "Projects and Relaibility Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    It takes time for the organization to implement processes

    Chesapeake Energy2018-09-28
  8. "Great overall experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain Analyst in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - tremendous benefits - relaxed atmosphere - upward mobility - amenities (offices, restaurants, fitness center, etc.)

    Cons

    - immature business practices (but improving) - history of HR siding with management rather than employees

    Advice to Management

    1) Don't just put the culture on a poster, live it out 2) Find ways to keep VPs, Directors, and Managers accountable 3) Make transparency a priority

    Chesapeake Energy2018-04-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    This company cares about work culture.

    Cons

    Senior leadership can hold their cards close to their chest, despite professing a commitment to transparency and open communication.

    Chesapeake Energy2018-02-19
  10. "Excellent benefits, atmosphere and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    Chesapeake's campus environment breeds innovation and collaboration

    Cons

    Morale can slide during times of low commodity prices

    Chesapeake Energy2018-01-27
Found 361 reviews