Chesapeake Energy "middle management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chesapeake Energy Employee Reviews about "middle management"

Updated Oct 19, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
181 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great PTO, connected company(in 52 reviews)

  • "Campus is great spread out but nice to walk around, fitness center is amazing, restaurants are top notch and great daycare(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Unstable oil and gas economy equals layoffs and budget cuts(in 14 reviews)

  • "This company doesn't make money and cannot get out of debt(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "middle management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Landman in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    Employees treated very well. Responsible company, very good upper management.

    Cons

    Middle management, some disorganization right now.

    Chesapeake Energy2012-02-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Beats Being Unemployed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    - Generous Salary and Benefits - Upper Management Wants a Better Company

    Cons

    - Inexperienced/Under-Qualified Middle-Management - Poor Company Culture (Back-Stabbing, Idea-Stealing, etc.) - Low Job Security

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the technical solution, not the easy answer. Don't take the advice from whichever ya-hoo hoots the loudest; dive into the technical details yourself.

    Chesapeake Energy2017-10-20
  3. "Engineering Tech I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Tech I in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly generous 401K match and PTO Great health benefits (medical, dental, and vision) Several amenities on campus (restaurants, daycare, gym) Awesome annual bonuses

    Cons

    Middle management (discipline managers) out of touch and lack leadership qualities; just use buzz words and cheerleader methods rather than provide any real guidance

    Advice to Management

    CHK has done a great job to reduce the "boys club" atmosphere by getting rid of overpaid, underworking VPs and upper level employees however there are still a ton of employees who have no idea what they are doing. Especially middle management (BU managers and supervisors) who have very little technical training and/or understanding. Executive VPs need to really look at who is running their BUs and make a change... otherwise a lot of incredible, gifted members of the technical staff will walk as soon as the opportunity presents itself. That being said I think the Exec VPs are AWESOME and have saved the company. Thank you Doug!

    Show More
    Chesapeake Energy2017-03-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Landman I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    Young work force full of talent

    Cons

    You are only a number. Middle management is very inexperienced. Upperan age mentioned won't listen to lower level individuals.

    Advice to Management

    Ask lower level individuals to review their superiors. You would be surprised what you find out.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-12-17
  5. "Financial Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome campus with great perks for working at the corporate offices

    Cons

    Middle management is shady. I was recently laid off from them. Several books and conference notes were taken from my personal belongings in my office. The day the mass layoff occurred my immediate supervisor locked himself in the office just as the HR notice was sent out. It has been said before on here most supervisors lack experience. Several young people in the office pretend they know more than they really... know.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If business does pick back up are you sure you are left with the right people. You might need to really pay attention to the real qualifications those employees have and if they can lead the company when it is going 100 miles per hour.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-12-11
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    Corporate campus is incredible. Excellent benefits. 15% 401k match. Compensation and morale is outstanding when business is good. New management working hard to establish a strong and enduring company.

    Cons

    Morale is terrible when business is bad. Young and inexperienced middle management. Too many middle managers with poor leadership skills. Industry boom of 2000's has created a sense of entitlement. Still dealing with problems created by prior management.

    Advice to Management

    To executive management; you're doing the right things. Keep it up.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-11-23
  7. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chesapeake Energy has great benefits and compensation. The top level management is sound. The 401K matching is among the best. Nice campus, great fitness center. A lot of good employees.

    Cons

    The second tier and middle management is untrained and inexperienced. Poor communication of goals and objectives, poor communication overall. Poor leadership and oil price decline has resulted in low morale.

    Advice to Management

    Need experienced management from outside companies that have established leadership skills. Promoting even good performers before they are ready does not benefit anyone.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-12-01
  8. "Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Towanda, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time

    Pros

    top notch co-workers in my group

    Cons

    The middle management seemed to be in disarray, confused. There was a lot of friction and in-fighting between the departments. They hired me without much of an interview process, possibly as the "token old guy" then laid me off after I left my business, home and family to work there. Nice.

    Advice to Management

    It would be a waste of time to offer advice to fools.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-11-11
  9. "Associate Title Landman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chesapeake Energy

    Pros

    Pay, benefits, met a lot of nice people

    Cons

    Middle management was onerous and would stifle any creativity

    Advice to Management

    none

    Chesapeake Energy2015-08-27
  10. "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Chesapeake Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some developers have good technical skills. Cafeteria have good lunch options.

    Cons

    With lots of SAP changes middle management is lost, don't know what to do.

    Chesapeake Energy2015-06-09
Found 11 reviews