KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Chesapeake Energy

Is this your company?

Chesapeake Energy

Add a Review

Chesapeake Energy Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 536 reviews

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Chesapeake Energy President, Chief Executive Officer and Director Robert D. Lawler
Robert D. Lawler
245 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good knowledgeable people and great benefits(in 60 reviews)

  • "On site fitness center, health center, restaurants and child care(in 38 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Ups and downs of the oil and gas industry(in 17 reviews)

  • "Worse - upper management is very anti transparency(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Chesapeake Energy and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sr Systems Analyst

      Feb 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, great benefits, location

      Cons

      Disconnect between upper management and regular employees

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      More potential than substance

      Apr 8, 2020 - Software Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I really have enjoyed my time at this company, the perks are outstanding and I really like my day to day. The amount of potential at this company despite the hard times just oozes out of every corner. The place makes me want to believe. And I have to say, I have liked and valued my experience working with almost every single individual contributor I have met in IT. Even the frustrating ones are usually competent and sharp. I feel a great deal of pride and companionship with the people still there.

      Cons

      As I mentioned, "the people still here". That's the problem. We've been shrinking almost every month since I've been here. Morale at this place has cratered. Most people left are actively hoping for a pink slip out of fear of being the one who gets stuck having to turn out the lights without a severance. Worse - upper management is very anti transparency. I sometimes wonder if the active goal is to make people exit from morale.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Always full of ups & downs

      Apr 1, 2020 - Production Engineer in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Great coworkers * Cafeteria * Flexible work schedule * Great benefits

      Cons

      * Clear culture of those who drink the kool-aid the most get promoted * Appearance of dishonesty from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Human Resources

      Jul 29, 2015 - Human Resources in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, amazing campus, Friday afternoons off

      Cons

      The backstabbing and manipulation of the HR Department is dis-heartening not only as an HR Professional, but as a general human being. HR is trained to turn on each other, backstab and tattle for their own personal gain. Those who are willing to sacrifice others for themselves are rewarded generously. Those who stick to a strong moral compass are punished. This department is a group of hypocrites. HRBPs will not "allow" the business to do something, but then turnaround and do the same things themselves (i.e. there are multiple supervisors/managers in HR with only one direct report, but they will not allow the business to have a structure like that). The CEO and upper management is constantly telling employees that there are no layoffs planned, all the while HR is "eliminating positions". HR gets by on semantics every time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company in some tough spots

      Mar 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people; developing entrepreneuial mindset; fantastic benefits; great workout facility; very good restaurants.

      Cons

      Crippling debt leaves high uncertainty, leading business units to often work against one another rather than working together for the greater good; major inter-departmental silos; upper management is largely detached.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Enjoyed my time there

      Oct 7, 2015 - Landman II in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Fair pay -Great benefits -Great on site amenities -Nice bonus program -Actively involved in OKC & the communities in which they operate -Most co-workers & middle management are easy to get along with -Career development is a priority

      Cons

      -Highly unstable. 2 major layoffs (over 700 employees each) in the 4 years I worked there. -Upper management preaches "core values" they don't live. Specifically transparency & open communication. Holding regular town hall meetings in which you spout off regurgitated industry jargon doesn't, by itself, equal transparency or open communication -Too many unnecessary meetings.

      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Overall Good

      Aug 18, 2015 - Landman in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall this was a solid company to work for. I was treated well but sadly all good things must come to an end. CHK got me into the oil and gas industry and was willing to take the time to train me.

      Cons

      A few bad choices by upper management has continued to be a headache for the company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      New Mangement

      Oct 13, 2015 - Landman II in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Its a good place to work. Lots of perks such as the best child day care and fitness center in the city.

      Cons

      The new management is trying to hard to give Chesapeake a new identity. It has lost its employee focused culture. Upper management has gotten rid of almost all the old management good or bad.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Nowadays Just a Number at Stressopeak Energy

      Dec 3, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      (1)Good pay but no better than industry avg. (2) Prior to current regime change/restructuring, company was annually listed amongst Best Places to Work.

      Cons

      (1) Restructuring business makes a most unpleasant work environment. (2) Job (if lucky enough to retain one) is unsecure and constantly dangled like the sword of Damocles above your head. (3) Selection process to achieve desired layoff numbers was biased and unfair. (4) Bonuses and 401 k match being threatened. (5) Workplace STRESS every single day, constantly waiting for next shoe to drop. (6) Lack of trust in regards to upper management and HR.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Room for improvement

      Jul 18, 2011 -  in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of learning opportunities Great benefits Room for growth in your career

      Cons

      Many employees have very negative attitudes which can make the place feel very stressful Severe lack of communication between people and lack of process Very controlling upper management No real "team" atmosphere

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Chesapeake Energy Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Chesapeake Energy? Share Your Experiences

    or