Chetola Resort Reviews | Glassdoor

Chetola Resort Reviews

Updated Jan 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
71%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Chetola Resort Owner Rachael Renar (no image)
Rachael Renar
10 Ratings
  1. "Summer Recreation Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chetola Resort part-time

    Pros

    Working in the Recreation Center at Chetola provides employees with a variety of tasks in the summer. It is a fun atmosphere to work in, and the majority of your time is spent providing fun activities for the kids staying at the resort.

    Cons

    I really don't have any negatives aside from wishing I could have worked more. If I didn't enjoy working with kids, this would not have been the job for me.

    Advice to Management

    I worked well with the management style at Chetola. They are very trusting in a way that earns respect. You do right by them, and they will do right by you.

    Chetola Resort2015-07-28
  2. "Good place to work with fun people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Rec in Blowing Rock, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chetola Resort for less than a year

    Pros

    I was able to see how the rec center operated and helped plan and implement programs for the kids camp and resort guests.

    Cons

    I did not use much from what I learned throughout my classes. It seemed like a very simple way to "check the boxes". The pay was low

    Advice to Management

    Give the interns more hands on work with how the business is ran through budgeting, costs, etc.

    Chetola Resort2020-01-08
  3. "Truly a unfortunate work experience I wouldn’t wish on anyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chetola Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The vast majority of staff treat you like family, free meals when events happen, beautiful property with abundant wildlife, discounts on rooms/spa/gift shop/restaurant.

    Cons

    There is a complete lack of communication within Guest Services itself and also communication between other departments. There is little to no structure or guidance and of course no opportunity for growth. There is no direction on how to grow and chance for promotions or fair raises. Education level and skill seem to have little to do with pay level or job title as favoritism runs rampant and most of upper management lies/plays favorites from my personal experience. Honestly horrible pay for what you are putting up with and the hard working employees don’t get recognized. Everyone wants to act like it’s one big happy Chetola family but the truth is much darker, if you are willing to be put down, told you aren’t good enough, be constantly forced to prove yourself, be ignored, lied to and treated like absolute garbage then this is the place for you!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, treat them fairly and give out equal opportunities to everyone. Don’t play favorites and lie to your employees when they are the glue that holds the resort together. I feel like I wasted my time here and hope no one else makes the same mistake I did. Chetola is the worst place I have ever worked.

    Chetola Resort2019-06-24
  4. "Very happy here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chetola Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    An easy going owner, a beautiful environment and a wonderful staff make it a pleasure to work here!

    Cons

    Communication is often lacking between departments. Employee reviews are sporadic at best.

    Advice to Management

    More team meetings, team building activities. Take the time to really acknowledge your staff. Don't neglect staff reviews/evaluations.

    Chetola Resort2019-03-21
  5. "Rec. Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chetola Resort part-time

    Pros

    Supervisor was great to work for. Always willing to work with staff on scheduling.

    Cons

    Top management has some problems. They don’t always look at the bigger picture and are very short sided.

    Chetola Resort2018-10-30
  6. "A different type of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chetola Resort

    Pros

    it is is a beautiful resort to show off to my young children and cousins even after leaving.. but front desk needs major improvement

    Cons

    favoritism does not belong with any type of management

    Advice to Management

    schedules followed through with employees, even management)are expected to be met. but it was was not the case during my employment

    Chetola Resort2017-12-31
  7. "management assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chetola Resort part-time

    Pros

    great people, good pay, good management, nice place to work

    Cons

    driving in the winter, lack of advancement

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    Chetola Resort2017-10-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fun, but EXTREMELY low pay for what I am giving to this company (sacrificing everything and stressing)."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chetola Resort for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, friendly guests.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay for the amount of responsibilities given.

    Advice to Management

    Pay guest services a minimum of 13+ an hour.. This is literally the face of your resort. Dealing with absolutely every single call and almost every stressful situation that comes upon your property. We are the front line of you, everything is linked to us. I have talked to many co-workers in this department.. Many feel underpaid for working at such a low rate per hour. We are responsible for any issue that occurs at this resort and ARE EXPECTED TO FIX IT AND RESOLVE IT (The "manager" deals with less than 10% of these issues as it ALWAYS falls on hourly employees). Increase the pay significantly for the face of YOUR company.. we are what you see when you walk through these (new) $8000 glass doors and are responsible for every single mishap. Pay us more for this responsibility.. It is extremely stressful and it is the reason the for the high turnover rate in guest services, Literally 4 people have been here a year or longer (that do not make salary). There is a big issue with the management and fairness of pay. We are not being paid for what we are being expected of. Increase this and you will see more dedicated employees.

    Show More
    Chetola Resort2017-10-02
  9. "Great employer for the area"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Blowing Rock, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chetola Resort for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy access to management, membership to recreation center for family, property discounts,

    Cons

    Understaffed in Management, stressful atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Get more management so that current managers can explore new guest advancements and communicate to employees.

    Chetola Resort2017-05-20
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boone, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chetola Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wholesome private company with owners that really care about you. This is a beautiful and unique place to work where everyone is family. Great insurance plan.

    Cons

    Pay is not up to industry standard for management/high responsibility positions. No sick days, only vacation time and few paid holidays.

    Chetola Resort2016-11-19
Found 17 reviews