Chevron Oronite Reviews | Glassdoor

Chevron Oronite Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Ron Kiskis
12 Ratings
  1. "Research Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Technician in Richmond, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron Oronite full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance is great. Pay is not bad.

    Cons

    None. Love working here

    Chevron Oronite2016-01-21
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Growth available only to a select few"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Technician in Richmond, CA

    I worked at Chevron Oronite full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Chevron had robust benefits package and flexible work schedules. The 9/80 work schedule was great.

    Cons

    There seemed to be a big divide between chemists and engineers - chemists got the short end of the stick. Upward mobility was really hard to achieve, even for high performing chemists with bachelors degrees.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Young people want more influence and say, and more pay. We aren't lab techs just because we like science, we also have to pay the bills.

    Chevron Oronite2018-03-26
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Storeroom Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Storeroom Supervisor in Belle Chasse, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron Oronite full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    If you are very knowledgeable about MRO materials and spare parts it is a great job.

    Cons

    The Procurement Department management preaches about the Chevron Way Behaviors; however, the same management violates many of them when managing direct reports.

    Advice to Management

    The employees within the Procurement department are reluctant to speak up about the actions of management due fear of retaliation.

    Chevron Oronite2017-10-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Research Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron Oronite for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Easy work Work is not too stressful Depending on your group, there is not much micromanaging Pay is good compared to the work that needs to be done

    Cons

    Repetitive work Lack of promotions It is hard to retain younger engineers because of the lack of opportunities Lack of quick growth for ambitions engineers

    Advice to Management

    Help leverage younger generations ambitions

    Chevron Oronite2017-05-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Be ambitious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant in Richmond, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron Oronite full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Good 9/80 schedule Great personal atmosphere Everyone gets a computer and a phone Good pay and benefits Extremely committed focus on safety Recognition and awards system lets you give up to 10 $50 gift certificates to fellow employees every year, free to you

    Cons

    Credentialism- if you don't have an engineering degree or a PhD in chemistry, you may be ineligible for promotions. You will also not be included in projects, so you can't build experience either. Communication- some people are very secretive with what they know. They have data and information you need, but they won't share it because they think it will hurt them somehow. You might learn more about the project you're...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat lab assistants like a pair of hands. We might get the message that we have no future there and leave.

    Chevron Oronite2017-05-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Chevron Oronite for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Compensation, quality employees, 989 Schedule

    Cons

    Long days, working on 989 Friday off, heavily weighted in upstream

    Chevron Oronite2016-08-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Very good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chevron Oronite full-time

    Pros

    excellent benefits, stability, flexible work schedule, work/life balance

    Cons

    slightly lower salary than competitive companies, promotions slow

    Chevron Oronite2016-07-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Technical Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Coordinator in Belle Chasse, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron Oronite for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great potential IF you can get on as a Chevron Employee.

    Cons

    Contractors are treated badly. You can be terminated with no notice and without reason. Also, you are constantly reminded that you are NOT a Chevron employee, despite the fact that you work just as hard & just as long as the coveted Chevron employees. You are never allowed to forget you are a second-class citizen with no power at all.

    Advice to Management

    Consider hiring contractors BEFORE 'outsiders' because contractors are the ones who do actual work and know the inner workings/politics of the plant. Contractors are routinely overlooked for Chevron positions because of nepotism and nothing else.

    Chevron Oronite2016-02-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Limited advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Richmond, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Chevron Oronite

    Pros

    Ethical company. Big emphasis in doing things the right way. Interesting technical challenges Good benefits.

    Cons

    Technical people face a glass ceiling. It is clear that chances to advance beyond a certain level are restricted. Senior technical experts or even well respected X-technical people don't seem to be put into leadership roles that would be logical. Job selection is more based on management than actual contributions. If management likes you then no matter how big the screwup you are rewarded. For the rest-nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Look to peer reviews more than your own flawed view of who is a leader. The system you use today is promoting people who are grandstanding more than real contributions. Put some real experience in charge.

    Chevron Oronite2015-10-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Chevron Oronite

    Pros

    Good company culture. People are friendly. I have never been rushed or told that I needed to hurry up because the company cares more about doing work safely to minimize days away from work due to work-related injuries. Opportunities to move around the company seem to be available.

    Cons

    There is an invisible barrier between management and people who work in the lab, but it is like that in many places anyway. Also, as a contractor I had no benefits.

    Chevron Oronite2015-08-28
Found 23 reviews