Chevron Phillips Chemical Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chevron Phillips Chemical CEO Bruce Chinn
Bruce Chinn
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Diversity and Inclusion principles as well as Safety are very strong values, Flexible schedules (9/80), lots of career growth opportunities(in 32 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits and Work-life Balance(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work life balance depends totally on your supervisor(in 13 reviews)

  • "Not every company is perfect but CPChem does a good job of coming close(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Excellent company

      May 3, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, work/life balance, colleagues, team environment

      Cons

      Staffing is fairly thin throughout the company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      CPChem

      Jun 16, 2020 - Reliability Engineer in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive compensation Lots of potential for improvement

      Cons

      Old industry Good Ol' Boy System Not a lot of room for growth Work life balance depends totally on your supervisor

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Jun 16, 2019 - Lab Technician in Tulsa, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits and Work-life Balance.

      Cons

      On the Non-exempt side, everyone advances along a time schedule, whether you're a great, average, or poor employee/worker.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chevron Phillips Chemical Response

      Public Affairs

      Thank you for your feedback. It is only by hearing from our employees that we learn, grow and improve.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 31, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great career opportunities for growth

      Cons

      work life balance could be improved

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Lab Sup

      Aug 19, 2019 - Lab Sup 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, Bonus, health insurance and 401k, Pension

      Cons

      Management , Culture and Work Life Balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chevron Phillips Chemical Response

      Public Affairs

      Thank you for your review. It is only by hearing from our employees that we will learn, grow and improve.

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Company

      Feb 19, 2019 - Process Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Safety is a priority. Good pay and decent benefits.

      Cons

      0 Work life balance for operators. Way too much overtime. Working almost every off day. Cannot advance unless you have a degree.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chevron Phillips Chemical Response

      Public Affairs

      Thank you for your feedback. We encourage you to reach out to your supervisor or local HR Business Partner to discuss work/life balance and address your concerns.

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It’s nice to look forward to work on a Sunday night...

      Mar 25, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in The Woodlands, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I’m a relatively new employee (been here a little over a year), and I’m really enjoying working at Chevron Phillips. My pay and benefits are very competitive with my friends/colleagues who work in my field at other companies. My job is interesting and stimulating, but I feel like I have adequate resources to do my job. I’ve worked at two other companies – one small company and one giant corporation – and the thing that stands out the most to me so far about Chevron Phillips is the family atmosphere (at least that I’ve noticed at my location). The company even has what they call a “fun committee” whose sole purpose is to plan fun activities for employees during work hours, like a tailgate party during football season and a barbeque lunch during Rodeo season. I truly feel like my need for a work-life balance is valued, and that’s something that’s really important to me. As for the culture of the company, what I’ve noticed so far is that there is indeed a strong safety culture.

      Cons

      I haven’t worked here long enough to have anything to complain about, but I’ve heard some employees say it would be nice to have more training.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company with a lot to offer!

      Jun 10, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Baytown, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The growth of this company is outstanding. To get in at the bottom is a great experience. Very family oriented and work life balance is outstanding. Always felt included and respected. I have so many good things to say about this company but not enough time to type it.!

      Cons

      Just the typical cons most businesses are dealing with now. The influx of young talent and mass exit of the experience. The only problem i see if the requirements for joining this company... they should not be so narrow minded to think that just because you have a degree means your the perfect fit for the job. Experience should be considered and take presidence over a degree.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Baytown, Texas (Current Employee)

      Apr 23, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      9/80 Work Schedule, every other Friday off (when not asked to work it), 401k & pension.

      Cons

      Excessive micromanagement. Little training offered for new employees due to coping with the pace of change. Lack of commitment to career growth to retain the talent the company has. Work life balance is given, but at the price of not advancing in your career. Working unnormal has become an expected normal. There is the sale of Diversity & Inclusion the sale of Career Ladder Growth & Opportunity, but there is no follow through on it.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Expertise of Chevron and Phillips 66 with the feel of a much smaller company

      Feb 27, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Chevron Phillips offers great compensation, good benefits, work life balance, and has a 401k matching program along with a pension program. In addition, there are benefits which the company inherits from Chevron and Phillips 66.

      Cons

      Geographic location of some sites leaves more to be desired. Performance Management still needs improvements regarding communicating employee's career path in company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Chevron Phillips Chemical Job Seekers

    Process Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Entry Level Chemical Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Chevron Phillips Chemical? Share Your Experiences

    Chevron Phillips Chemical logo
    or