Chevron "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chevron Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Chevron Chairman and CEO Mike Wirth
Mike Wirth
278 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Since the down of oil prices, they cut down facilities and salaries for intern(in 66 reviews)

  • "Work life balance for field employees(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Webcast Producer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people and collaborative work environment.

    Cons

    None. The company does a great job of promoting.

    Chevron2019-10-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Never a dull moment at chevron...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Surprise, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Laid back work environment. -Free fountain drinks during your shift. -Stay busy due to customer frequency.

    Cons

    -Cleaning public restrooms. -Rude Customers. -pay needs to be increased.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees how you want to be treated

    Chevron2019-09-18
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in San Ramon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron for less than a year

    Pros

    The stress of work/life balance, 9/80 schedule, and very ergonomic/friendly/open work environment. It pays well for a non tech company for its intern. Nice relocation package if you choose the headquarters as your stay and if you qualify for it. Great projects that allow you to understand how Chevron uses technology for their company and the projects make an impact to Chevron as a whole. The freedom that you get to... invest in yourself within Chevron. There were at least 3 intern events each week in the San Ramon office. Managers encourage you to network and attend the intern events. Also, if you like to volunteer, there were plenty of volunteering events that Chevron hosted.

    Show More

    Cons

    For the group that I was in, more technical mentors in San Ramon because no one really knew the technology stack that we were dealing with besides one person and she works in the Buenos Aires office and some people in the Manila. Plus, more networking/social events with the IT managers, IT Horizons, Employee Networks, and interns and professional development events like career fair for the IT interns, interviewing... workshop, resume review sessions, how to network within Chevron, LinkedIn workshop, building your brand, and information about certifications to be successful in your career and academic like information about graduate school to go to for MS in their study or MBA. Also, more workshops/talks about how technology drives Chevron’s business and play a role in each major business group.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please improve your technology stack to entice interests for smarter potential interns.

    Chevron2019-08-29
  5. "Opportunity's knocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Coordinator in Marrero, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture, the work environment, and all of the wonderful people who work at CPL Empire Terminal make each and every person feel like family

    Cons

    The only downside I can say is that I'm not there working 7 days a week

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and thanks for your generous hospitality. I think I could become a valuable member of the team if given the opportunity

    Chevron2019-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Work/Life Balance but Slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Petroleum Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers 9/80 Schedule Training and development opportunities are plentiful Relaxed work environment

    Cons

    Bureaucratic decision-making Factory business model in the Permian leads to very narrow job responsibilities. Total compensation diverges significantly from the independents after 5+ years of experience for PE and G&G roles. Stock options are restricted to quite senior pay grades.

    Advice to Management

    Take action to stem the attrition of technical personnel in MCBU. Why give certain functions retention bonuses and then let your subsurface folks walk out the door? Slow down the rotation of senior management in the BUs. Inexperienced management creates a lot of poor decision making and puts us at a disadvantage versus our more focused peers.

    Chevron2019-04-29
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good relaxed work environment. Good coworkers

    Cons

    Job becomes repetitive after a while

    Chevron2019-03-18
  8. "Upsides and downsides"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Analyst in Houston, TX

    I worked at Chevron for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment. Decent compensation. Focus on experienced employees.

    Cons

    Big emphasis on process. Managers focus on managing up. Over specialization means limited opportunities.

    Chevron2019-02-19
  9. "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Port Arthur, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chevron full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Company to work for and work environment. The company cares about the employees well being (work pace breaks) and are flexible with family emergencies.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep going strong with your Operational Excellence initiatives!!!!!

    Chevron2018-12-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Very Much in a Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chevron full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment in terms of being respected by others

    Cons

    Overly process oriented. Having a challenging time adapting to the new nimble norms of shale fast paced environment -> some management just won't change

    Chevron2018-12-20
  11. "Plant operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chevron full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, awesome people

    Cons

    Dangerous work environment, living in Southern California

    Chevron2018-12-02
Found 184 reviews