Chicago Architecture Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Architecture Foundation Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Architecture Foundation CEO Lynn J. Osmond
Lynn J. Osmond
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Architecture Foundation full-time

    Pros

    CAF is full of hard-working, smart people. I enjoy almost every single person I work with. The volunteers are also amazing (although a little headstrong at times). It's a very entrepreneurial environment where you can usually bring an idea to fruition if you can prove it will be effective. And the subject matter is really fun and interesting.

    Cons

    The direction of the organization is always changing, and it's hard to know what leadership is focusing on at any given time. The closer you get to the top, the more volatile it can be. Usually people treat each other with respect, but there are times when the top doesn't trust in your ability to do your particular job.

    Advice to Management

    CAF is a successful place. Stop trying to reinvent it and embrace the fact that our audiences love us. And trust your employees. They know what they are doing.

    Chicago Architecture Foundation2015-10-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great team with terrible upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Education Facilitator in Chicago, IL
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chicago Architecture Foundation part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Collaborative environment Unique programming for varied interests

      Cons

      Senior Management No opportunity for advancement

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2019-01-28
    • Helpful (3)

      "Not great."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Chicago Architecture Foundation full-time

      Pros

      Most of the people are nice and passionate about the organization's mission.

      Cons

      This is the most dysfunctional, delusional place I have ever worked in my life.

      Advice to Management

      Lack of communication leads to low morale.

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2018-02-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "For-profit Nonprofit"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chicago Architecture Foundation

      Pros

      Everything great about CAF is consumer based. Great tours, programming, Open House Chicago. Generally, positive people to be around.

      Cons

      You need to be passionate about the mission or you will not enjoy your time at CAF. Very little room for growth. Run very much like the corporate world. Long hours, mentally taxing, low paying, poor leadership. CAF's mission is great but stagnant. Could really benefit from a leadership change that provides outside perspective.

      Advice to Management

      If you do not want to change your workplace system or culture, consider hiring employees in the twilights of their career who may be more mission based. This would also serve an older, more affluent audience base.

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2017-10-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Office Administrator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Chicago Architecture Foundation full-time

      Pros

      Great Programs, dedicated staff, great discount at CAF store

      Cons

      low opportunity for career growth.

      Advice to Management

      none

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2017-03-28
    • Helpful (6)

      "Read the reviews before working here and wish I'd listened to them"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chicago Architecture Foundation

      Pros

      I found nearly everyone I worked with to be smart, kind, and passionate, totally capable of doing their job and doing it well. The docents and volunteers are also great. Programs and tours put on by the organization are well-regarded in the community.

      Cons

      Work environment is largely toxic. Turnover here is high in general, and outrageously so in my department. My supervisor was and continues to be a serious problem for employees, yet HR and upper management have seemingly done nothing to work toward a solution. I personally made complaints about this person that should have been sufficient cause to terminate their employment, and other employees did the same. For an organization...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Give employees the respect they deserve. Acknowledge the valuable skills and experiences they bring to the table, and provide opportunities for growth. Fight to keep those people on board, rather than treating them as easily replaceable. Take staff concerns seriously and react appropriately.

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2017-03-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "Toxic Work Environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chicago Architecture Foundation full-time

      Pros

      Great mission and the tours and education programs are respected in the community. Smart, hardworking colleagues. Shop discount is a great at holiday time. Fun to work on Open House Chicago.

      Cons

      CAF wants to be more than it actually is. Projects and new initiatives are always started - not always finished and the staff is often required to turn on a dime. My manager tried to protect our team from this - but the CEO can be mercurial, temperamental, prone to favoritism and pays little attention to whether the organization has the resources - human or otherwise - to pull off a constant stream of new initiatives...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      To quote another reviewer, where to start?

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2017-02-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "This organization needs a regime change fast!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Chicago Architecture Foundation full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      The mission of the organization is inspiring. Staff want to believe in it and live it. Tourists love what we do. The volunteer docents are the backbone of the organization and do a lot of the work.

      Cons

      The staff are quite passionate, but underutilized for their intelligence. Too many very talented people leaving at all levels. CEO treats employees like "subjects" instead of talented and dedicated staff. The politics are absolutely insane! Resources are not balanced among departments. This organization needs a regime change! Too much reactionary thinking and flip-flopping.

      Advice to Management

      CAF has incredible potential, but the leadership can't figure out how to use it's people or achieve it's potential. Too much ego at the top. Find a way to appreciate what you have or your reputation for horrible turnover will persist.

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2016-07-18
    • Helpful (5)

      "A lot of good and a lot of bad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Chicago Architecture Foundation full-time

      Pros

      All of the other reviews are right on the money. A lot of fantastic people. A really cool organization with a meaningful mission and great programs, tours, shop, etc. The boat tour is world renown and Open House Chicago is one of the best things in the city. The docent program is top notch. Prestigious and well-respected organization. Looks great on a resume. The general atmosphere in the office is casual, laid back,...

      Show More

      Cons

      Direction and management have some serious issues. Management fails to adhere to processes and advanced planning, making it very difficult for staff to keep up. Seems like the organization is chasing brand new initiatives at the expense of recently established initiatives on a monthly basis, negating the hard work of many. Turnover is incredibly high and demoralizing. Several employees who would like to be (and probably...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Where to begin?

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2016-02-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "Good mission, passionate people, poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Chicago Architecture Foundation full-time

      Pros

      Somewhat good benefits. Energizing and passionate coworkers.

      Cons

      Not enough support from management. Pay is low compared to other not for profits of similar size.

      Chicago Architecture Foundation2016-01-15
    Found 18 reviews