Chicago Children's Museum Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Children's Museum Reviews

Updated Jul 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
Chicago Children's Museum CEO Jennifer Farrington
Jennifer Farrington
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chicago Children's Museum full-time

    Pros

    Best collection of dedicated employees I have ever worked with. Everyone cares SO much about the customers and doing their best work.

    Cons

    Because this is such a great place to work, people tend to stay in their jobs for a long, long time. This creates fewer opportunities to grow your career. The upside is that people love their jobs. The museum is also located at Navy Pier, which really limits your lunch options!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Chicago Children's Museum2015-05-15
  2. "Guest facing positions good for part time work or if a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Play and Learning Facilitator 
    Recommends

    I worked at Chicago Children's Museum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, fun environment and co-workers

    Cons

    Pay, no advancement, open most holidays

    Chicago Children's Museum2017-10-02
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Can't Wait to Quit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chicago Children's Museum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers and supervisors are great. Almost everyone else is friendly.

    Cons

    Management cannot communicate effectively, then get upset when you do something wrong. Absolutely no positive reinforcement whatsoever. There are several daily tasks that make no sense whatsoever, but we get written up or yelled at if we don't do them. Navy Pier is a huge pain to get to and from, and all there is to eat on breaks is fast food or tacky tourist food. The computer system is a joke. Parking is expensive....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to communicate and stop making every conversation awkward!

    Chicago Children's Museum2017-10-17
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Not a Career Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Chicago Children's Museum part-time

    Pros

    the children are what make the job worth it.

    Cons

    no room for growth unorganized management the turnover rates are ridiculous due to all management

    Chicago Children's Museum2017-09-18
  5. Helpful (9)

    "The Most Miserable Experience of my Working Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chicago Children's Museum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some nice people that work there. Just not in the Guest Services department.

    Cons

    It almost seems that the people running the department have a fetish for making life more difficult. The system used to check visitors and members in is abysmal and, as a result, long lines are the norm on busy days. The call-off system is a joke and many staff members take advantage, calling in "sick" when they just don't feel like coming in. The department is perpetually understaffed, either because someone has called...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for management since, short of a complete personality overhaul, I doubt anything will change. I only have advice for people considering employment in the Guest Services Department. Don't.

    Chicago Children's Museum2017-08-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Play and Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Play and Learning Facilitator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chicago Children's Museum part-time

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers, Play with Children,

    Cons

    Standing on your feet all day, Cleaning up the building area, the pay

    Chicago Children's Museum2017-01-20
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Terrible Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chicago Children's Museum part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My co-workers were amazing. Everyone was really cool except the manager.

    Cons

    Manager is just the worst. She would yell at employees in front of staff and visitors. Very condescending and unpleasant. Also the ticketing system sucks.

    Advice to Management

    Fire your nightmare of a manager and get rid of your horrible ticketing system.

    Chicago Children's Museum2017-02-12
  8. "Supervisor of Play and Learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Chicago Children's Museum part-time

      Pros

      They take care of staff, everyone becomes family. Very supportive and passionate group, accepting of everyone.

      Cons

      No room for career advancement.

      Chicago Children's Museum2016-12-26
    • "Great experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Human Resources Intern in Chicago, IL
      Recommends

      I worked at Chicago Children's Museum for less than a year

      Pros

      Everyone was really nice and helpful. I had full control over what I wanted to do during my internship and I really liked that.

      Cons

      None. Keep up the good work.

      Chicago Children's Museum2015-09-01
    • "Inspiring Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Chicago Children's Museum

        Pros

        Fun work environment and for the most part extremely dedicated staff. It's a kids museum for Pete's sake!

        Cons

        Low pay, little room for advancement. Cost saving measures lead to poorly skilled/untalented individuals managing programs and departments.

        Advice to Management

        Find a way to retain talent. Some of those who remain are complacent and incompetent.

        Chicago Children's Museum2015-03-19
      Found 14 reviews