Chicago Marketing "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Marketing Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 141 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Jacob Cline
107 Ratings
Pros
  • "The environment at Chicago Marketing is very welcoming(in 21 reviews)

  • "The business model CMI uses is beneficial for the team's growth(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The hours can be long, but anyone looking for a career for the long haul should expect to work long hours, and possibly work a day on the weekend(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chicago Marketing is one of the fastest growing marketing companies in the country. There are tons of advancement opportunities. What you put in is what you get out of the business. They promote solely from within based on performance and willingness as opposed to seniority. It's really about who wants to grow and how hard you're willing to work, and I think that's what separates them from other marketing companies.

    Cons

    The hours can be long, but anyone looking for a career for the long haul should expect to work long hours, and possibly work a day on the weekend.

    Chicago Marketing2019-04-07

    Chicago Marketing Response

    April 8, 2019Human Resource Director

    Hi there and thank you for your feedback. Here at CMI we focus on personal development and offer hands on training to create the best platform possible for our team to build not only themselves but the company, alike.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Pretty Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been here for about 8 months. It's a good gig. I have a good base pay ($43k salary) plus commissions. Since I have been here I calculated just under $67k. In 8 months - that's pretty impressive. The training was great - the team is awesome. I work in the wireless division and have built a strong connection with my team/clients.

    Cons

    Long hours - the commissions are performance based (And I have a strong sales background) not everyone will be as successful as me - but that's the beauty of it. Cool place in general

    Advice to Management

    Better flexibility within the scheduling (time off - call offs) for the team

    Chicago Marketing2019-02-13

    Chicago Marketing Response

    February 16, 2019Human Resource Director

    Hello there and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback here. We love being able to give talented individuals like yourself the platform to reach their highest potential. We are glad to have you as part of the team!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Chicago Marketing part-time

    Pros

    Nice people were really nice

    Cons

    Long hours for 6 days a week

    Chicago Marketing2018-11-20

    Chicago Marketing Response

    November 26, 2018Human Resource Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your input. We have a 40-42 hour work week for our full time employees and 25-30 for part time.

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Corporate Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trainer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Marketing full-time

    Pros

    Paid Training Competitive Salary Great Bonuses Weekly Commissions Benefits Company Travel Great team Great atosphere

    Cons

    Long hours A lot of studying but over all great opp

    Advice to Management

    More classroom training

    Chicago Marketing2018-09-30

    Chicago Marketing Response

    October 3, 2018Human Resource Director

    Hello and thank you for the detailed review! CMI offers a lot of great perks to the team including paid training - we are so glad that you were able to benefit from the opportunity :)

  5. Helpful (9)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Chicago Marketing full-time

    Pros

    People were friendly. They do there best to motivate you.

    Cons

    Long hours and very little pay. I felt like I was bothering people while they shopped.

    Advice to Management

    Let people know what the job is about before they come in for an interview.

    Chicago Marketing2016-02-04

    Chicago Marketing Response

    February 10, 2016Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out with your concerns. It is vital that we continue to change and grow, and find new ways to be successful, and employee satisfaction is at the top of our list. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to us at hr@chicagomarketinginc.com ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (19)

    "Nice People But not Beneficial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Marketing full-time

    Pros

    Pros are you can get some great "in your face" sales experience here but not much of anything else Ceo Jacob is a cool guy as well as others

    Cons

    there are so many Cons: Your first 3 sales a week go to the company you use you own gas to get to these stores your hard selling in big retailers you stand for long hours and periods of time 8 hours straight you are gambling with customers trying to get them to sign up for every 200 people you talk to you get maybe 1 to sign up and that person could cancel you work...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dont sell dreams

    Chicago Marketing2015-08-26

    Chicago Marketing Response

    February 10, 2016Account Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our number one priority is to continue to get better at what we do, and your response has played a part in some internal improvements. Employees now have many different campaigns to work with, which allows for more growth and success. ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Great people and great opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Marketing

    Pros

    I love working here and I love the people that surround me. They really want to see you grow and succeed and they give you the tools to do so. Atmosphere is amazing and the advancement for growth here is ridiculous. If you want to succeed in a career then come her.

    Cons

    Hours are pretty long but what serious job isn't going to make you work long hours. You have to be willing to put in the work if you want to succeed.

    Chicago Marketing2015-01-27

    Chicago Marketing Response

    November 30, 2016Human Resource Director

    Thank you for reviewing our company, we are so happy you enjoy the people you work with. We are very career focused as a company and want people here for the long haul. With the hours we have worked on making a more accommodating schedule, we now offer flexible schedules and 8 hour ...

    Show More
Found 141 reviews