Chicago Police Department Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Police Department Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Police Department CEO Garry F. McCarthy
Garry F. McCarthy
16 Ratings
  1. "Police Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Law enforcement, Social studies applications. Problem resolution skills

    Cons

    different social group strategies, Numerous calls for service and refused once arriving

    Chicago Police Department2019-07-14
  2. "Police Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are many great benefits

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to report

    Advice to Management

    There is no advise to give

    Chicago Police Department2019-04-27
  3. "Sergeant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sergeant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Help community, make a difference in someone's life

    Cons

    Rotating shifts, many times not appreciated by public.

    Chicago Police Department2018-11-13
  4. "Police Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chicago Police Department full-time

    Pros

    Great job, excellent benefits, chance to advance in your education

    Cons

    Dangerous job, always have to be alert good customer service

    Chicago Police Department2018-04-12
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Police Detective 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Meeting and working with people of many cultures. I think I loved it so much because this was a job I've always wanted Coming from a police family, I was pretty much born into it. It brought me out of my shyness, I had a awesome field training officer, which is extremely important,

    Cons

    Racial divide is still very much present and obvious. Lack of proper training is totally unfair to the newer officers. The refusal to allow us older more experienced officers come back and give the new recruits a full dose of reality is just plain stupid. The need to know the habits we've observed on the street can get them seriously injured or killed. They need culture awareness.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being too proud to accept assistance from those of us who survived major incidents and came home unscathed. You are doing the department a disservice and most importantly putting citizens and officers at risk everyday.

    Chicago Police Department2018-01-29
  6. "Patrolman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer in Chicago, IL
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The job offers a lot of opportunity to grow. It allows an officer the opportunity to show the public the positive of policing as you serve the city of Chicago.

    Cons

    The public often times don't have or get the opportunity to see the positive side of policing because of lack of personal contact with the police. The media hardly ever shows the positive side of policing.

    Advice to Management

    It is important to choose a well rounded person for such sensitive positions to represent your company. Knowledge of the job is very important.

    Chicago Police Department2017-09-08
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Police Officer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary, training, tuition for college

    Cons

    Violence, must live in Chicago

    Chicago Police Department2017-08-04
  8. "Detective"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Police Detective in Chicago, IL
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Helping people in time of need

    Cons

    Seeing & being around the worst society has to offer.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget what is was like before you went into management.

    Chicago Police Department2016-05-31
  9. "Police Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Police Department full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best job for independent work, challenges, danger, excitement and a true community service commitment.

    Cons

    Minimum of ten years to be vested. Twenty years for a 50% pension. Hope the system is still intact At retirement.

    Advice to Management

    Better in service and continuing service training is wanted and needed.

    Chicago Police Department2015-05-10
  10. "CPD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Chicago Police Department

    Pros

    Stability Close to home Great pension Great teamwork

    Cons

    Morale Lack of adviancement Lack of training

    Chicago Police Department2014-07-07
Found 45 reviews