Chicago Public Schools Principal Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Principal Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
3 Ratings
  1. "AP at CPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary and benefits are a plus

    Cons

    The bureaucracy can be hard to manage

    Chicago Public Schools2019-10-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful professional development opportunities; good salaries; fun; good schools are amazing places to have your career. Dr. J (Dr. Janice Jackson)seems like a good leader for CPS. Keep doing your thing!

    Cons

    Some schools are very rough and the schools own you-you cannot easily leave a bad school for a better one if the opportunity arises. It’s possible, but a bit complicated. Some administrators are on power trips and not good leaders or people. Schools with wealthy families can fund their children’s schools very well while other schools have very little. Selective enrollment schools create a brain drain for neighborhood schools. With Hundreds and hundreds of network and school administrators, there are all kinds. Some are great people and great leaders, others are simply awful.

    Show More
    Chicago Public Schools2019-03-28
  3. "Interviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional development Networking Professional learning community Benefits Salary

    Cons

    Follow up is almost non-existent unless you are CONNECTED. Easier to schedule interview for substitute position. This gets you in the system so that you can make connections.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a few more people to the substitute teacher department so that it doesn’t take 4-6 weeks to receive an offer....most candidates are available for immediate hire

    Chicago Public Schools2019-02-16
  4. "School Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HIgh School Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The children of Chicago Public Schools are incredible. They are an inspiration to all adults!

    Cons

    Budgetary uncertainty and declining enrollment at neighborhood schools.

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see the current management team stay for a long time. The district needs stability.

    Chicago Public Schools2018-04-09
  5. "Unrealstic values and expectations for global success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Breadth of schools and opportunities for employment change.

    Cons

    Fiscal mismanagement, inconsistent policies, no room for advancement, hostile environment, misappropriation of resources and personnel.

    Chicago Public Schools2017-10-16
  6. "Job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Principal in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CPS has competitive salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Employee training and promotional opportunities are limited

    Advice to Management

    Offer job placement for employees that are displaced to budget cuts

    Chicago Public Schools2016-11-01
  7. "Run Run Run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is nothing positive about this company at this time.

    Cons

    The company is not solid or stable at this time.

    Advice to Management

    You are going to lose the best talent to others with your current policies.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-06-25
  8. "Assistant Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Principal in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work with great students and teachers

    Cons

    Assistant Principals are year to year positions, which makes every July 1 a little scary!

    Chicago Public Schools2015-08-05
  9. "Elementary School Principal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools

    Pros

    Great pay and excellent professional development

    Cons

    High focus in High stakes testing

    Chicago Public Schools2015-02-18
  10. "Tough work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was empowered to implement my vision for an organization. I had the support of superiors, freedom to hire who I felt fit, and I felt I made a difference in students' lives.

    Cons

    The politics are suffocating and your budget is extremely restricting. As a manager you expect a certain degree of scrutiny from your employees but the current educational environment demands academic performance without the time to establish a culture.

    Chicago Public Schools2015-01-13
Found 12 reviews