Chicago Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
84 Ratings
  1. "CPS Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School 

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary and summers off is the only serious benefit to working at CPS, unless you are at a nicer school - which I have no experience at.

    Cons

    I work on the south side- so my experience is probably very different than some other schools. Working on the south side has conditions that are extreme, it is NOT for the weak. Expect to have not nearly enough support staff due to budgets, including a nurse or counselor, terrible classroom ratios as well as the classroom not having enough space for the large number of students (over crowding ), and overall just a very hard experience like you've NEVER had before. There is a reason the salary is high and it's because they would never have teachers willing if it wasn't.

    Chicago Public Schools2020-02-18
  2. "Missed the Job it was rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Rewarding,, Good Pay,, Off during the summer

    Cons

    Some schools are mean to the children,,

    Chicago Public Schools2020-02-13
  3. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Paraprofessional 

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and pay for non degree holders

    Cons

    Positions can be cut based on seniority

    Chicago Public Schools2020-02-10
  4. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility. It is rewarding to work with the kids!

    Cons

    No insurance for substitute teachers. Different schools have very different expectations.

    Chicago Public Schools2020-02-05
  5. "Find Good Co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent Staff in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many co-workers do what they can to support you.

    Cons

    Money to get needed supplies isn't there. Also implementing new procedures that don't make sense. Administration is incompetent on how to support teachers. Admin will punish the whole teaching staff instead of pulling teachers aside to have a conversation. Admin is hostile towards teachers. They implement last minute policies that make teachers not allowed to fail students. Could be proactive to help students learn instead of just trying to get their pass rate up.

    Continue reading
    Chicago Public Schools2020-02-02
  6. "Strong union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    The union is really strong

    Cons

    There's never enough time to do what is necessary

    Chicago Public Schools2020-01-28
  7. "Do Better For Yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    The students at the Chicago Public School where I work are engaged, curious and interesting.

    Cons

    The bureaucratic behemoth that is CPS ruins almost everything that it comes into contact with.

    Continue reading
    Chicago Public Schools2020-01-28
  8. "Substitute Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Paraprofessional in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being a substitute works with your schedule and will pay the bills. You get to experience different cultures and meet many great teachers and children. Health care package and benefits are the best.

    Cons

    Your position is difficult because you are entering a classroom with no prior knowledge of students (which is what comes with a substitute position). More recently I have experienced classrooms where the teacher(s) do not want help because of the lack of knowledge of student needs and you sort of just sit/stand around waiting to be useful. It makes you feel useless and not at all acknowledged as a professional. While the compensation pays the bills, we can definitely benefit from additional compensation with the wages rising nationwide.

    Continue reading
    Chicago Public Schools2020-01-22
  9. "Teach and learn all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to grow, move, advance

    Cons

    Can be frustrating to navigate some departments, policies, schools, etc

    Chicago Public Schools2020-01-17
  10. "Best New Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OSS Tech in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you love kids and technology is the best place for you to work. Genius Lab allows you to be innovative, creative, and the owner of your space.

    Cons

    If you don't have strong classroom management skills, the work can be tiring.

    Chicago Public Schools2020-01-10

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 925 reviews