Chicago Public Schools Special Education Classroom Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Special Education Classroom Assistant Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
98%
Recommend to a Friend
Chicago Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
0 Rating
  1. "Nothing less than a great learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Building lifetime relationships with people who you can mold into great citizens to send out into our communities and build our nation back up/

    Cons

    Seeing students you work effortlessly with choose other options other than completing high school.

    Advice to Management

    Always remain humble and be willing to put just as much work in as those with lower positions. Everyone is equal children sense division.

    Chicago Public Schools2015-03-03
  2. "Overwhelming yet Satisfying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You get to play a major part in the intellectual and creative development of many young minds. It is always a joy and pleasure to see the light bulbs pop on in so many eyes. So many times I have been pleasantly surprised and in awe of just how much our children know and can impart. And it's great when you have the opportunity to work with members of a team that strive to be on the same page on all points.

    Cons

    Many classrooms are overcrowded, schools understaffed. SECAs are often relegated to plug-and-play tasks in these cases. Our hands are tied (all staff, not just SECA's) in dealing with the most unruly students and we can't always impart the consequences necessary to bring such students in line.

    Advice to Management

    Often the staff feels dmnd if you do and dmnd if you don't, where their efforts are concerned. Staff is always advised as to what they are NOT doing, and what else they SHOULD be doing. Rarely are they recognized for successful efforts and results. Please understand that staff needs to know, more than once or twice a year, what they are doing RIGHT. Just as we are coached to discuss the good points to a student before correcting a direction or behavior, staff can also benefit from a balanced assessment as well.

    Show More
    Chicago Public Schools2019-03-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love the school I am at however, it is a lot of work and believe the pay should be increased."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The days go by fast, has many fun moments. I am able to learn from the many different situations I am put into.

    Cons

    Can be very challenging at times. Due to the mass number of students, it can be difficult to accomplish everything that needs to get done.

    Advice to Management

    Must have a lot of patience.

    Chicago Public Schools2018-01-16
  4. "Good place to work if you have kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The time off. Summer ,spring and winter break.

    Cons

    No job security anymore Layoffs and furlough days.

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting cost in education. Our children are our future. They need a good quality education.

    Chicago Public Schools2017-02-26
  5. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pro with a con, it is hard work, but it is very fulfilling when you see your kids(students) eyes light up after they've accomplished something they thought was difficult

    Cons

    So much is expected of staff but they do not give the proper resources to do what is expected of us

    Chicago Public Schools2016-12-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "CPS is a revolving door."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools for less than a year

    Pros

    working with students. great benefits, excellent scheduled

    Cons

    have you seen the news lately? whats not wrong would be an easier question.

    Advice to Management

    find the money, place more people in school. find a way to get parents involved.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-05-18
  7. "Special Education Paraprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a greater need in the chicago public schools because of the economic situation.

    Cons

    Many of the staff can be very worried about security, and sometime the staff will allow things to happend because of their fear.

    Advice to Management

    Please make the teachers and all staf safe.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-01-18
  8. "Rewarding Job if Money is not the main motivator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to deliver essential services to diverse learners. Provide basic foundations of common core curriculum for special education students with various needs.

    Cons

    No job security in underfunded education system. Most principals and administrators are in a unsung clique. Special education I'd highly misunderstood.

    Advice to Management

    Management and decision makers should be required to be educators.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-01-24
  9. "Special Education Classroom Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with special needs students.

    Cons

    Not full-time and no benefits.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Chicago Public Schools2015-10-11
  10. "Served it purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Classroom Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours are great and working in a school with the kids is quite the experience. They really grow on you and helps you get a perspective on life.

    Cons

    The salary was not worth staying even after getting a Masters Degree in Education Policy they would not increase my salary. There are very nepotistic in hiring whether it is in a school or Central Office. There is very little room for mobility coming from inside of a school and going into Central Office. at my school many of the teachers were frustrated with the school's administration and it was just heart breaking at the quality of education the students were getting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In school management, a strong leader is one that know his demographic well and one that can take experience and formal knowledge and make the best of it to serve the students and employees. To Central Office establish a better system of accountability and management on all levels.

    Chicago Public Schools2014-08-11
Found 12 reviews