Chicago Public Schools Special Education Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Special Education Teacher Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
4 Ratings
  1. "Nice school and good department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and a lot of energy in the school

    Cons

    Lack of resources: books, supplies, etc, and overcrowded classes

    Chicago Public Schools2018-08-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Little support, great reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher, Elementary School 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    The students can be very challenging, but deserving and incredible. The work can be very rewarding and those educators that stick around are strong, passionate and inspiring.

    Cons

    It doesn't come as a surprise to many that working in this environment can present many challenges. While there are incredible, caring, and hard-working, and strong people that succeed in this district for many years, however, some schools present so many blockers that work can be discouraging. The environment is so dependent on strong leaders and teams that when a principal is unable to support their employees effectively, work can be increasingly challenging. Everyone is there to help students succeed, but sometimes the resources are insufficient and morale/supports low enough that work becomes impossible.

    Show More
    Chicago Public Schools2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Diverse Learner Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to play a hand in developing students and assisting them in achieving their academic targets

    Cons

    CPS continues to violate the basic civil rights of Diverse Learner Students. That is, DL students are placed in classrooms that includes students beyond the allowable age span of 4 years. I have students age 5-11 in my class. Also DL students are placed in classrooms that exceed the maximum amount of students allowed. My classroom consists of 15 students ranging from 5 different grade levels. They don't receive the same books and materials as their general education counterparts. I can go on regarding the blatant disregard of Special Education laws and regulations. Teachers can filed grievances; however, they will likely be subject to being penalized by the principal. There is really no protection or safeguards for teachers. Be prepared to spend your own money for materials, books and room decor.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make teachers feel valued. We are on the frontline with the parents and students. However, we are treated like the help.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-08-14
  4. "CPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits for family and good hours

    Cons

    Bad raises and difficult daily schedule with sometimes no breaks

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-24
  5. "Disorganized at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Supporting and having a positive impact on the lives of Chicago youth

    Cons

    Constantly changing administration, currriculum and lack of emphasis on research based quality instruction. Large class sizes

    Advice to Management

    Stick with what has been proven to work and keep classes (especially kindergarten) SMALL

    Chicago Public Schools2019-05-09
  6. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The kids. Such a diverse group!

    Cons

    Working for a large urban public school district is hard. The district makes changes on a whim and has no idea how it effects the teachers or students. Special education budget is being cut and teachers are expected to do more with less. Some school are good and some school are bad, very bad

    Chicago Public Schools2019-04-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Pay, Decent job if certain things don't bother you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher, Secondary School in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, great team I'm working w/, great admin, supportive staff, overall.

    Cons

    Toleration of behaviors that no one should allow. IE. defiance, disrespect, constant use of profanity, students have to constantly be reminded to stay on task and do work. They grow angry when you tell them to abide by simple rules/norms.

    Advice to Management

    Place accountability on circumstance, parents, and students. This is what I feel is missing now, in general in education.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-02-15
  8. "Good coworkers, poorly ran school system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dedicated coworkers that gave their all despite limited resources. Chicago Teachers Union - strong union that supports it workers. Good pay based on experience - better than some suburban districts.

    Cons

    School ran by principal with limited knowledge, inconsistent. Poor resources. School board that is handpicked and usually corrupt in the way it spends money.

    Advice to Management

    Turn to an elected school board with people who truly have an interest in the future of our students.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-01-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Politics are Priority, Kids are Not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pretty good salary, quick upward mobility if you are skilled, the students will adore you if you take the time to build trust and listen to them

    Cons

    Everything else. Teaching is not an easy job, and there are so many factors in CPS that make it so much harder. Everyone from the top on down is so overworked and exhausted. The students suffer because of this.

    Chicago Public Schools2018-07-28
  10. "Segmented Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher, Elementary School in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you have a great principal and colleagues, the school site itself is wonderful and it is a very rewarding professional experience.

    Cons

    The board, as any board in big cities, lacks connection and rapport with teachers. HR makes many mistakes, they close too early, and when you barely make it to talk to them in person about their mistakes they act as if they are doing you a favor. It would be nice if their first response was something like "I'm sorry we made a mistake" and then fix it. I had to deal with them twice in person for sending my paycheck to someone else, and another time for a salary correction and their first immediate reaction was dismissive instead of apologetic.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm very happy working for CPS. The compensation is decent and my school site is wonderful. Immediate management is great! The board is okay. I never met anyone from the board so I wouldn't know what to suggest.

    Chicago Public Schools2018-05-11
Found 46 reviews