Chicago Public Schools Teacher Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Teacher Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
1 Rating
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I have ever worked with./

    Cons

    Long hours but I got used to it after a while/

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-11
  2. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent entry level position for a non- bachelor degree employee

    Cons

    Lack of upward mobility

    Chicago Public Schools2019-11-03
  3. "Paraprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked for CPS for about 8 years, its hard to get into. The pay was decent, the benefits were great as long as the hours. It gave me time to take afternoon classes and summer classes.

    Cons

    Some of the people that you work with are not all very friendly, a lot of drama in schools, hard to get into the system.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-09-25
  4. "Teacher Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, good pay, everyday is different.

    Cons

    No work in the summer.

    Advice to Management

    Had great management

    Chicago Public Schools2017-04-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Substitute Teacher Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant Or SECA (Special Education Teacher Assistant) in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -35 work hours a week -You can explore all the CPS schools -The students make your day & You meet new people everyday -Potential long-term work -Flexibility and no commitment to work everyday

    Cons

    - The pay could be better (we are the backbone for teachers) - Offer some health benefits to ALL substitutes - Improve the Aesop system

    Advice to Management

    Start treating the subs better and give us health benefits. We do put out health at risks everyday we are in the classroom teaching or assisting.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-10-10
  6. "Teacher Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Teacher Assistant II in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools

    Pros

    Great benefits for teachers starting off

    Cons

    The pay, administration, the board

    Chicago Public Schools2016-07-09
  7. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant II in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stability and room for growth. If you love education, Chicago public schools is the best place to be.

    Cons

    The living area requirements. You have to reside in Chicago in order to work for CPS.

    Chicago Public Schools2016-02-08
  8. "unsatisfied"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teacher Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools

    Pros

    great benefits, summers and hloidays off

    Cons

    Politically incorrect, its all about who you know for promotions, they never promote from within.

    Advice to Management

    Take a good look at what you have already before going outside your work community.

    Chicago Public Schools2011-10-07
Found 8 reviews