Chicago Public Schools Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Chicago Public Schools Teacher Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Chicago Public Schools Chief Executive Officer Janice Jackson  (no image)
Janice Jackson
27 Ratings
  1. "An Great Company to Work for if you Know Somebody"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Long Term Substitute Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Th pay is fair considering out cities and suburbs

    Cons

    No benefits for Substitutes not even partial benefits.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-08-15
  2. "Standard Sub Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher 

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools part-time

    Pros

    There are lots of jobs

    Cons

    There are many terrible schools

    Chicago Public Schools2019-08-23
  3. "first year salary 2018"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chicago Public School Teacher 

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    benefits, culture, admin, great values

    Cons

    large classes, class schedules, hours worked, travel

    Chicago Public Schools2019-08-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Diverse Learner Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The opportunity to play a hand in developing students and assisting them in achieving their academic targets

    Cons

    CPS continues to violate the basic civil rights of Diverse Learner Students. That is, DL students are placed in classrooms that includes students beyond the allowable age span of 4 years. I have students age 5-11 in my class. Also DL students are placed in classrooms that exceed the maximum amount of students allowed. My classroom consists of 15 students ranging from 5 different grade levels. They don't receive the same books and materials as their general education counterparts. I can go on regarding the blatant disregard of Special Education laws and regulations. Teachers can filed grievances; however, they will likely be subject to being penalized by the principal. There is really no protection or safeguards for teachers. Be prepared to spend your own money for materials, books and room decor.

    Continue reading
    Chicago Public Schools2019-08-14
  5. "OK Place to Sub"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chicago Public Schools part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can choose your assignment through the online system, so they don't just place you. Most schools are happy to have a regular sub they can call in, and the kids get to know you. If you have a bad experience at one school, you don't have to go back.

    Cons

    Some schools are disorganized, and reassign you to a different class than you signed up for, once I can in and it had been double booked.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-22
  6. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary, Some schools, Students, Hours

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, Nepotism, Unprofessionalism, Unrealistic expectations

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome teacher team, teerible district conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - History Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive teachers and staff Some opportunities for positive relationship building with students

    Cons

    Overcrowded classrooms Little or no curriculum support Lack of resources on both an institutional and larger societal scale Poor work life balance High demand job

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-30
  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I have ever worked with./

    Cons

    Long hours but I got used to it after a while/

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-11
  9. "CPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Special Education Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits for family and good hours

    Cons

    Bad raises and difficult daily schedule with sometimes no breaks

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-24

    Chicago Public Schools Response

    August 5, 2019Assistant & Marketing

    Good afternoon, Thank you for posting your review but I believe you may be looking for Chicago Public Schools. We are CPS, Inc. a Recruiting firm headquartered in Westchester IL. We just want to make sure your review gets to the intended profile: http://bit.ly/ChiPubSchool Have a fantastic day and thank you for being an educator!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Burn Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Chicago Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compared to other districts, the pay is alright .

    Cons

    Administration is burnt out, teachers are burnt out, new leadership all of the time, and ridiculous and unnecessary testing.

    Chicago Public Schools2019-07-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 311 reviews